Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Something Sweet for Your Valentine February 9, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 8:24 PM
Tags:

I’ve tried out several new recipes lately with great success, but the one I wanted to share today would be a perfect special treat for the Valentines in your life.  These take some watching, but the work isn’t hard, and the payoff is delicious.  Also, these use basic ingredients and can be tweaked in an infinite number of ways.

The official name for these is Brigadeiros, but what they are is Brazilian Fudge Truffles.  I only made half the recipe, but I still got 2 dozen truffles.  These yield a very chocolatey, slightly chewy truffle that can be flavored or coated with whatever you like.  I coated half of mine with graham cracker crumbs and half with coconut.

Brazilian Fudge Truffles (from 17 and Baking)

2 14 oz. cans sweetened condensed milk

1/4 c. + 2 tbsp. cocoa

2 tbsp. softened butter

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a medium saucepan over medium heat.  Stir constantly til the mix comes together into a thick batter, 10-15 minutes.  When you tilt the pan, the mix shouldn’t stick to the bottom, but should slide like a dough.  Cook another minute or so.
  2. Pour the mix into a bowl (or several, if you’re doing multiple flavors) and add any desired flavorings.  Let cool to room temp.  (Mine was a bit soft to work with at room temp.  Next time I’d put them in the fridge til they get just a bit chilled.)
  3. With a small scoop, scoop out portions of dough and use lightly greased hands to roll into a ball.  Roll in any desired toppings and return to the fridge.

Brazilian Fudge TrufflesBrazilian Fudge Truffles 2Brazilian Fudge Truffles 3  Mine were pretty soft at room temp, so they got a little squished as they sat.

Are you making something special for your Valentine this year?  I’ve got a special dinner already planned for me and my hubby!

 

2 Responses to “Something Sweet for Your Valentine”

  1. […] my continuing quest to go through all my recipes, I got to remake these Brazilian Fudge Truffles (also called brigadeiros).  This time, I made sure to chill them before rolling them out, so they […]

  2. […] lastly, a candy recipe that I’ve blogged about not once but twice because they’re super easy, customizable, and very tasty!  (I know I shared these […]


Leave a comment