Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Honey Bun Cake for Your Honey January 25, 2017

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 12:04 AM
Tags: ,

I missed talking to y’all last week but between a family member’s birthday dinner and picking up friends from the airport, I just didn’t have the time.  But I am excited to share today’s recipe!  I truly love cooking for my family and friends – it just seems more worth it than cooking for myself.  I made this cake for a get together with some friends from out of town, and it was a big hit.  My hubby’s not usually a cake person, but this one was a little different because he loves honey buns.  I loved how easy this was to make, and it really did taste like honey buns.  Now I know this isn’t going to help all our resolutions to lose weight, but you can always save it for a special occasion.  😉

Honey Bun Cake (from The Country Cook)

1 box yellow cake mix

4 eggs

1 c. sour cream

3/4 c. veggie oil

1 c. brown sugar

2 tsp. cinnamon

2 c. confectioner’s sugar

4-6 tbsp. milk

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tbsp. honey

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×13 pan.  In a medium bowl, stir together the cake mix, eggs, sour cream, and veggie oil.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the brown sugar and cinnamon.
  3. Spread half of the cake batter in the prepared pan.  Sprinkle the brown sugar mix evenly on top, then cover with the remaining batter.
  4. Bake 40-45 minutes or til a toothpick inserted in the center removes cleanly.
  5. In another small bowl, mix together the confectioner’s sugar, milk (starting with just 4 tablespoons), vanilla, and honey til they reach a smooth glaze consistency.  Pour over the cake as soon as you remove it from the oven.

honey-bun-cakehoney-bun-cake-2

Concerning the diet I talked about in the last post, so far this year a lot of distractions have kept us from being steady on THM, but we’re not giving up.  And I’ve been trying some of my saved recipe that fit THM guidelines, but none of them are keepers just yet.  I’ll keep you posted though; something’s bound to pan out eventually.

Here’s some things that I’ve been thinking about this week:

– We went to Pasha (a Turkish restaurant) this past week, and I discovered 2 amazing things.  The first thing was that most of what is labeled as feta in the grocery store is a lie.  Real feta is creamy, salty, and just a tiny bit sweet.  It’s an amazing cheese that has been sadly dumbed down for unwitting consumers.  The next time a recipe calls for feta, I’m going to try going to the cheese counter to see if they can get me the real thing.  (They probably can for 2-3 times more than what I’ve paid for the tasteless clumps, but I think that’s a better option than paying less money for no flavor at all.)

– I also had their cranberry rice, and now I’m obsessed.  I don’t understand how rice, craisins, and onions can make such an incredible flavor combination, but I’m glad they do.  It’s a recipe that I’m definitely going to try to figure out once when we’re not focusing on THM.

– I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it before, but I really love halva.  If you’re not familiar with it, it’s a type of Middle Eastern candy made from tahini (sesame seed paste).  We’ve gotten some from World Market in the past, and I always think of it as a special treat.  One of our friends is currently back from Israel, and she brought us a delicious slice of it that I thoroughly enjoyed eating. ❤

– Lastly, in an effort to declutter, I’ve decided to do all the jigsaw puzzles stacked up in my closet and to get rid of nearly all of them.  I’ve enjoyed doing puzzles for a long time, but for several years I just haven’t the time or table space to devote to them.  (To fix this, a friend gave me a very large piece of cardboard which means that I can do the puzzle on my dining room table, but I can also quickly clear the table if I need to use it for something.)  However, being the multitasker that I am, I felt the need to do something else while doing the puzzle.  I needed something I didn’t have to look at, so TV was obviously out.  I tried listening to music, but it didn’t stimulate my brain enough.  And while I like listening to comedy routines, it seems like Pandora plays the same ones over and over.  Finally, I realized that it would be a perfect time to listen to podcasts. (I know, duh!)  I’ve been listening to the Myths and Legends podcast for a few months now, but since I didn’t have a specific time to listen to it, it was taking me a while to catch up.  Once I realized the beauty of puzzles and podcasts, I quickly ran out of new episodes to listen to.  Then I had a new problem: I needed a new podcast (or a few) to listen to while I do my puzzles.  Just this past weekend my sister had the great idea to find podcasts that play old radio dramas.  I’m really enjoying listening to these great old shows, though I haven’t heard enough of them to recommend a specific one yet.  That being said, if you have a podcast that you love listening to, please let me know about it.  I’d love to try out some new ones.

And I think that’s all for now.  I hope you have a great rest of the week!

 

4 Responses to “Honey Bun Cake for Your Honey”

  1. Dad Says:

    if they have them in the Old Radio broadcasts try- Lights Out, Escape, The Whistler, and of course… The Shadow.

    • One of the ones we found is about The Shadow, but it only had 3 episodes. 😦 The other ones we found play (seemingly) random episodes of many different shows, including the ones you mentioned. I’ll definitely be looking to see if there are more of those, especially The Shadow.

  2. Jenna Lehman Says:

    Love the “what you’ve been thinking about” addition to the regular post. Also, now I want honey bun cake!


Leave a Reply

