Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Easy Soup for Busy Days December 20, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 6:31 PM
Tags:

Man, that Christmas rush can really sneak up on you!  I’m so sorry about being MIA the past couple of weeks, but I’ve just been that busy.  Thankfully, things have eased up just a bit.  We’ve finished our Christmas shopping, the gifts are wrapped, the cantata is over, and I have a day or two before I need to start baking treats.  That means that I finally get to come on here and share an easy dinner recipe for those of you who might need something easy for your own busy days.

I have no idea how I’ve gone this long without sharing this tortilla soup recipe with you.  It’s super easy, very tasty, and perfect on cold nights like we’ve been having.  And you already know I love recipes where you just dump stuff in your crock pot and come back later to a delicious dinner.  Here’s how easy it is.

Crock Pot Tortilla Soup (origin unknown)

3 cubed, boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 10 oz. pkg. thawed frozen corn (I actually use mine straight from the freezer, and it’s fine.)

1 chopped onion (I find that it doesn’t cook enough, so I grate mine into the crock pot.)

3 14 oz. cans chicken broth

1 6 oz. can tomato paste

2 10 oz. cans diced tomatoes with green chiles

2 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. seasoning salt

1 tsp. minced garlic

  1. In a large slow cooker, combine all the ingredients.
  2. Cover and cook on low for 5-7 hours or on high for 3-3 1/2 hours.

crock-pot-tortilla-soupcrock-pot-tortilla-soup-2

It’s really that easy!  You just stir it all together and let the slow cooker work its magic.  We like to top ours with some Greek yogurt, cheese, and some tortilla chips (of course!)  I hope this helps warm you up this weekend, and have a very Merry Christmas!!

 

Leave a Reply

