Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Whatever happens… November 8, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 8:02 PM
Tags:

I know I’ve been MIA lately, and I hate to be that way.  Unfortunately, life has been super busy lately, and something’s got to give.  While I don’t have a recipe to post for you today, I did want to give everyone a little bit of encouragement.  Lately, you can’t use almost any technology without running into everyone’s opinion about the election.  I have opinions too, but I don’t share them here because political debates are not something I feel like getting into.  My friends and family know where I stand, but the internet doesn’t need to.  Still, I wanted to say a couple of words to encourage those who are stressing out over the election and upcoming results.

This year (and probably next year too), I’ve been trying to focus on God’s promises to us.  A couple of days ago, I started reading Psalms which is wonderfully full of these promises.  A few of my friends have posted great reminders on their social media outlets saying that no matter who wins the election, God is still in control and Jesus is still the King.  In that vein of thought, here are some promises from Psalms.

  • Psalm 3:5-6 – I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the LORD sustained me.  I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.
  • Psalm 4:8 – I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makes me dwell in safety.
  • Psalm 7:11 – God judgeth the righteous, and God is angry with the wicked every day.
  • Psalm 9:9-10 – The LORD also will be a refuge for the oppressed, a refuge in times of trouble.  And they that know thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, LORD, hast not forsaken them that seek thee.

Isn’t it amazing how relevant the Bible is?  This was written thousands of years ago, but it applies to us today like it applied to David in his day.  Obviously, these are just a few examples from what I’ve read the past few days, but they are certainly comforting to me.  We can rest easy tonight knowing that God will keep us safe.  And while there is certainly work to be done in America, we don’t have to fret over it because God knows what is happening and He will not forget His people.

 

Leave a Reply

