Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Are You Sloppy? October 4, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 4:50 PM
Tags:

If you’ve been reading for a while, you may remember that a couple of years ago, I tried my very first sloppy joe.  (Yes, I was nearly 30 before I tried my first sloppy joe.)  Ever since then, I keep my eye out for interesting variations of that sandwich.  (Funnily enough, the first one I tried was Indian, and it’s my hubby and I’s favorite version.  I love interesting takes on it, but I’m not a huge fan of the original.  ;P)  When I saw this Cuban version on Rachael Ray’s website, I decided it was definitely worth a try.  The sandwich has some good flavors, but definitely needs some tweaks for the technique.  (I’ll list my adjustments below.)

Sloppy Cubanos (From the August 2007 issue of Everyday with Rachael Ray)

1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

1/4-1/3 lb. finely chopped chorizo with the casings removed

1 lb. ground pork

1 finely chopped onion

2 cloves grated garlic

2 tsp. paprika

2 tsp. coriander

1 tsp. allspice

2 tbsp. brown sugar

1 tbsp. worcestershire sauce

Zest of 1 lime

Juice of 1 lime

1 c. chicken broth (I think this is actually twice the amount you need.)

1 8 oz. can tomato sauce

4 Portuguese rolls (While Portuguese rolls would be in  keeping with the Cuban style, you could certainly use a sub roll or hamburger bun if you can’t find the Portuguese rolls.)

4 slices swiss

3-4 chopped dill pickles

  1. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the chorizo and cook, stirring, til browned, about 2 minutes.  Add the pork and cook, crumbling, til browned, 3-4 minutes.  Stir in the onion, garlic, and spices, and season with salt and pepper; cook 5 minutes.  Add in the brown sugar, worcestershire, lime juice, and lime zest, then stir in the broth and tomato sauce and simmer a couple minutes.  (With the amount of broth that the recipe calls for, I had to simmer much longer til it reached a decent consistency.  To fix this, I would add everything but the broth, then add broth a bit at a time, until you like the consistency.  I would be surprised if you needed more than 1/2 c. of the broth.)
  2. Lightly toast the rolls under the broiler.  Top the bottom of each roll with some meat and then the swiss.  Broil til melted, about 30 seconds.  Top with the pickles and roll tops.

sloppy-cubanossloppy-cubanos-2 My rolls were a little too tall, so I had to scoop out some of the middle of the top roll.  Consequently, my sandwiches were upside down.  (:

All I can say is that I’m so glad it’s starting to feel like fall.  I hope you’re enjoying the weather, but don’t forget to pray for the people in the path of Hurricane Matthew.

 

Leave a Reply

