Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

When Things Are Too Much September 20, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 5:35 PM
Tags: ,

This is going to be a bit of a different post today.  Instead of sharing a recipe, I want to share a couple of verses that stood out to me in my devotions this past week.  For several months, I’ve been in the books of the kings (I & II Samuel, I & II Kings, and I & II Chronicles).  I try to read at least 1 chapter a day (though I’ll often end up reading 2-3, one is my minimum.), and I end up reading through the whole Bible every couple of years.  I want to read enough to really get my teeth into it, but (especially in the Old Testament) not read so much that I start skimming or not paying attention to it.  (This is just what works for me.  I’m not saying that other ways are wrong.)  I’ve been doing daily devotions for a long time, so I know I’ve read all of these verses before, but that’s what is so wonderful about the Bible.  No matter how many times you’ve read it, God can always show you something you hadn’t noticed before.

During my reading I came across II Chronicles 20:12, and it stood out to me in a way that it never has before.  First, some context.  This is during the time when God’s people were divided into Israel and Judah, and these books talk about the different kings for each nation.  This chapter is talking about Judah who was ruled at that time by Jehoshaphat, one of the good kings.  Judah is being attacked by the people of Moab and Ammon, and Jehoshaphat is asking for God’s help.  There’s actually quite a long prayer starting in verse 6, but verse 12 really stood out to me.  It says: “O our God, wilt thou not judge them? for we have no might against this great company that cometh against us; neither know we what to do: but our eyes are upon thee.”  

Jehoshaphat had proclaimed a fast and asked all of Judah to come together to help him seek the Lord, and God sent an answer through the prophet Jahaziel.  Ultimately, God helped them face their attackers and God fought for them, but what I want to share is God’s answer in verse 15.  “And he said, Hearken ye, all Judah, and ye inhabitants of Jerusalem, and thou king Jehoshaphat, Thus saith the LORD unto you, Be not afraid nor dismayed by reason of this great multitude; for the battle is not yours, but God’s.

There’s a lot going on in our country right now, and it can be really scary.  Sometimes we can feel like we’re overwhelmed and don’t know what to do.  But no matter who or what comes against us, we need to keep our eyes on God.  After all, He’s bigger than any problem that could ever face us.  But we are responsible to make sure that we’re doing the right thing.  Certainly God is always with us no matter what, but how can He bless us when we’re disobeying His word, or putting worldly things before Him?  If we humble ourselves before God and ask forgiveness for our sins, He will always stand beside us.  It doesn’t mean our problems will go away (though sometimes He will do that), but it does mean that God will be beside us to take us through whatever happens.  And that’s enough for me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

