Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

One Last Scoop for Summer September 13, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 6:30 PM
Tags:

Actually, I’m happy to eat ice cream all year round, but I know some people mostly prefer it in the hot summer months.  I’d seen this ice cream recipe floating around Pinterest for a while, and this year I finally got around to trying it.  It takes just 3 ingredients and comes together super quickly and easily.  And the best part is, you can make a ton of different flavor by switching up one ingredient.  Are you wondering what I’m talking about yet?  This is a recipe for soda ice cream!  It’s got the flavor of an ice cream float without the (to me) weird consistency.  (I like my ice cream hard and scoopable, not mushy and watered down.)  So for me, this is the best of both worlds.  This time, I made it with root beer (My husband just LOVES root beer floats.), but you could make it with orange soda, regular coke, sprite, or whatever else you love.  The texture on this is a little icier than regular ice cream, but it stayed nice and soft the whole time it lasted.  Here’s how to enjoy this delicious treat for yourself.

Soda Ice Cream (from Your Home Based Mom)

4 c. cold soda (I would suggest not using diet, since the sugar is what helps keep it from solidifying.)

1 14 oz. can sweetened, condensed milk

1 c. whole milk

  1. Mix all the ingredients together and pour into an ice cream maker.  Process according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
  2. Place the processed ice cream in an air tight container and freeze til hardened.

soda-ice-cream-root-beersoda-ice-cream-root-beer-2

And there you have it, one of the easiest ice creams to make that you can switch up so many different ways.  What flavor would you like to try first?

 

Leave a Reply

