Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Blueberries for Breakfast August 30, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 7:32 PM
Tags:

I don’t know whether or not I’ve mentioned it before, but I’ve never actually been a huge fan of oatmeal for breakfast.  I adore oatmeal cookies, but I’ve just never liked the texture of most baked oatmeal, overnight oats, or regular bowls of oatmeal.  But I keep trying them because I love the idea of them, and I know how healthy oatmeal is for you.  Well, surprise surprise, for the past 2 days I’ve had bowls of oatmeal for breakfast, and earlier this summer, I found a baked oatmeal recipe that I really enjoyed.  😀

I made the baked oatmeal as the original recipe directed, and while I love the taste, I felt like the technique could use some tweaks which I’ll comment on in the recipe.  Because, really, that’s not a big deal – what really matters to me is that it has a great flavor (not too sweet) and a good texture (not soupy, but also not gluey), and this recipe delivers.  I also appreciate that this is a flexible recipe.  It’s got blueberries in it, but you could easily switch that up for whatever fruit is in season and languishing in your produce drawer.  (My best friends and I call it sacrificial fruit.  You buy fruit because you know you should, but then it just sits in your produce drawer until it goes bad and you’ve got to throw it out.)

Blueberry Baked Oatmeal (from Bakers Royale)

2 1/2 c. blueberries

1 c. rolled oats

2/3 c. + 1/2 c. milk

3-6 tbsp. stevia (The amount varies by brand and personal preference.  I’d mix a small amount into your milk, taste it, and adjust to your preferred sweetness.)

3 1/2 tbsp. melted coconut oil

3 tbsp. ground flax

2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 c. unsweetened shredded coconut

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

  1. Preheat the oven to 365 degrees and grease an 8 inch pan.  Place the blueberries and oats in the pan.
  2. In a mixing bowl, whisk together 2/3 c. milk, stevia, oil, flax, vanilla, salt, coconut, and cinnamon.  Spread evenly over the blueberries and oats, then stir.  Top with the remaining 1/2 c. milk.   Note:  I felt like this way of making it was unbalanced.  Lots of blueberries in some pieces and almost none in others.  Next time I’ll mix everything but the 1/2 c. milk together in the same bowl, pour it in the pan, then top with the remaining 1/2 c. milk.
  3. Bake 35 minutes or til golden.  Let sit at least 5 minutes before cutting.

Blueberry Baked OatmealBlueberry Baked Oatmeal 2

So, now that I’ve overcome my issues with oatmeal, let me know how you feel about oats for breakfast and whether or not there’s a dish that you want to love but just don’t.

 

Leave a Reply

