Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

A Cookie and Some Deep Thoughts July 19, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 10:42 PM
Tags: , ,

Sometimes you need a cookie that you don’t feel totally bad about eating.  You want something a little sweet, but not something that will suck you into a black hole of sugar from which there’s no return.  For times like that, you might want to consider these healthy monster cookies.  They’re made with oats and whole wheat, so they’re better for you, but there’s still enough sugar in them so that they do taste like a cookie.  They’re also really easy to whip up, and they only make about 17 or so, i.e. not enough to put yourself in a total food coma.  😉

Healthy Monster Cookies (from Amy’s Healthy Baking)

1 c. quick cook oats

3/4 c. whole wheat flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/8 tsp. salt

1/2 tbsp. melted coconut oil

1 egg white

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 c. natural peanut butter

1/2 c. brown sugar

1/4 c. milk

2 tbsp. mini M&Ms (FYI, there are just 2 tbsp. in those little tubes they sell at the checkout line in the grocery store.)

2 tbsp. mini chocolate chips

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the oats, wheat flour, baking powder, and salt.  In another bowl, whisk together the coconut oil, egg white, and vanilla, then whisk in the peanut butter til smooth.  Stir in the sugar and milk, then stir in the flour mix just til incorporated.  Fold in the m&ms and chocolate chips and chill for 30 minutes.
  2. Once the cookies have chilled, preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment.  Drop the dough by tablespoonfuls onto the baking sheet and flatten to your desired thickness.  Bake 10-13 minutes; cool 10 minutes on the pan, then finish cooling on a wire rack.

Healthy Monster CookiesHealthy Monster Cookies 2

Have you noticed that this blog has been low on the “faith and finds” lately?  Well I have.  It was never intentional, but the food just kind of took over for a while.  It’s not that I haven’t found new things, I guess nothing jumped out and screamed “Share me!”.  Until this week.  I’ve been reading Spurgeon’s book Praying Successfully, and there were a couple passages that were just so meaningful that I couldn’t go without sharing them.

This first passage is about God’s timing versus our timing when answering prayers.

“I know beyond the shadow of a doubt that the worlds were made by God.  I am sure of it.  Yet I did not see Him making them.  I did not see the light appear when He said, “Let there be light” (Gen. 1:3).  I did not see Him divide the light from the darkness and gather the waters together so that the dry land appeared.  Yet I am quite sure that He did all this.  Even though I was not there to see God make even a bird or a flower, all the evolutionists in the world cannot shake my conviction that God created the world.

Why should I not have the same kind of faith about God’s answer to my prayer in my time of trouble?  If I cannot see how He will deliver me, why should I wish to see it?  He created the world well enough without me being there and knowing how He would do it, and He will deliver me without my having a finger in it.  It is not business of mine to see how He works.  My business is to trust in my God and to glorify Him by believing that what He has promised, He is able to perform.”

I don’t know about you, but I’d never seen it quite that way before.  In another passage, he also illuminated just how truly amazing God’s mercy is.

“It has always been true that the great mercy of God has been turned by some into a reason for continuing in sin, but God–and this is the wonder of it–has never restricted his mercy because of that.  It must be a terrible provocation of almighty grace when people pervert God’s mercy into an excuse for sin, but the Lord has never taken the edges off His mercy because people have misused it.”

I don’t know about you, but I certainly don’t like being taken advantage of, and I don’t stand for it.  But there’s God, the Creator, the King of Kings who sees us abusing His goodness and mercy, but for all that, he doesn’t stop being good and merciful.  Ever!  We truly have a wonderful God!!

 

Leave a Reply

