Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Chocolate for My Hubby July 5, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 11:01 PM
Tags: ,

I realized this past weekend that I forgot to tell you about the “something special” that I mentioned 2 posts ago.  The something special was that my hubby and I took a 3 day trip to Milwaukee and Chicago.  (Although if you know me IRL, you already knew that.)  We checked out a few zoos and museums, ate more pizza then I normally would, and just generally had fun spending time together and seeing new cities.  Our particular favorites were Wells Brothers Pizza in Racine, WI (super amazing thin crust pizza!!), Giordano’s (stuffed pizza which I surprisingly liked), and basically everything from Oh Danish Bakery (The kringles!!).  If you want more info, you can always check out the pictures I posted on Instagram (foodfaithandfinds) or ask me in a comment.  Still, it’s always nice to come home to everything familiar, and I’m happy to be back and sharing some delicious chocolate treats with you.

This first recipe was way too sweet for me, but hubby loved it.  He’s a big milkshake guy, so this was right up his alley.  Supposedly, the recipe makes 2 sodas, but I feel like it could be 4 for people who aren’t as into super sweet milkshakes as my hubby is.

Chocolate Soda (from The Little Black Book of Chocolate by Barbara Bloch Benjamin)

2 oz. chocolate (I just used chocolate chips.)

1/2 c. chocolate syrup

2/3 c. cream

Cold carbonated water

4 scoops ice cream (It didn’t specify a flavor, so I went with vanilla.)

  1. Melt the chocolate (via your preferred method), stir in the syrup, and set it aside to cool.  Once cool, pour into a blender with the cream and process briefly.
  2. Pour into 2 chilled glasses and add the carbonated water to fill each glass up halfway.  Add 2 scoops of ice cream to each glass and then top off with more carbonated water.

Chocolate Soda 2Chocolate Soda 3 The directions didn’t say to mix it, but (as you can see in the 2nd pic), I decided that it might work better to mix everything up.  Either way it was very rich and super chocolatey.

Another chocolate dessert that I just recently made for the first time is chocolate souffle.  Some time ago, I’d found kind of an easy version, and I finally gave it a try.  Compared to all the horror stories I’ve heard about making souffles, this was definitely an easier version.  It does have several steps, but none of them are actually hard.  I’m not a big eggy dessert fan (no flan for me, please), so these weren’t my favorite.  However, my hubby enjoyed them, and I think it’s nice to have something like this in my wheelhouse, just in case.

Chocolate Souffle (from Good Housekeeping)

4 oz. bittersweet chocolate chips

1/3 c. sweetened condensed milk

3 separated eggs

2 tbsp. confectioner’s sugar

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and generously coat four 4 oz. ramekins with nonstick baking spray with flour.
  2. In a large, microwave safe bowl, heat the chocolate chips on high for 20 second increments, stirring between each one, til just melted (1-2 minutes).  Once melted, remove from the microwave and whisk in the condensed milk.  Whisk in 2 yolks til just blended (you don’t need the 3rd yolk for this recipe).
  3. In another large bowl, beat the egg whites on medium speed until medium stiff peaks form, 3-4 minutes.  Add 1/3 of the beaten whites to the chocolate mixture and whisk gently til incorporated.  With a rubber spatula, gently fold in the remaining whites til just incorporated.  Divide the batter among the ramekins.
  4. Sift the confectioner’s sugar over the tops of the souffles, then place the ramekins in a jelly roll pan.  Bake 11-13 minutes or til the tops rise about 1 inch above the rim of the ramekins.  Do NOT open the oven door at all while the souffles are baking.  Once done, serve them immediately.

P.S.  ALL souffles fall.  The trick is to serve them right when they come out of the oven, that way you’ve started eating them before they get a chance to “fall”.  

Chocolate SouffleChocolate Souffle 2

Since chocolate is running the show today, I’d like to know what your most unusual, yet favorite chocolate dessert is (read: not brownies, chocolate cake, or chocolate ice cream)?  For me, it’s a tie between magenbrot (chocolate gingerbread/cake) and rustic chocolate pie.

 

2 Responses to “Chocolate for My Hubby”

  1. Raye Says:

    peppermint hot chocolate (https://elanaspantry.com/peppermint-hot-chocolate/), although that doesn’t equal dessert for most people!! 🙂 I also love chocolate pots de creme (https://elanaspantry.com/chocolate-pots-de-creme/) and chocolate hamentaschen… they’re a triangular filled cookie, Jewish I think! (https://elanaspantry.com/nut-free-chocolate-hamantaschen/)


Leave a Reply

