Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Parmesan in a Hurry June 21, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 6:03 PM
Tags: ,

Sometimes you can’t sweat the small stuff. I fully expected to post last week, but life happened, and I decided I can’t let that bother me.  I was spending time with friends and family, so that kind of trumps blogging.  😉  But I did get to try some delicious new recipes that I’ll be sharing in upcoming weeks.  Now, for tonight, I’m going to share a couple recipes that we had for our eighth anniversary dinner a couple of weeks ago.

I’m slowly trying to go through the myriad of recipes in my recipe boxes, so when I got to the recipe for this basil Parmesan dip, I thought it would be perfect for our anniversary.  If you like pesto, then you’ll love this dip!  If you’re growing basil, then you could easily make pesto, freeze it, and then thaw to make this whenever you need an appetizer in a flash.   Or of course, you could also make it fresh with the harvest from your herb garden.  It’s so quick to whip up, and has such a great flavor, definitely one of our new favorite dips.  (I think it would also be a good “sauce” on some chicken or fish.)

Basil Parmesan Dip (from Cooking Light)

1/4 tsp. black pepper

1 c. lightly packed basil leaves

3/4 c. finely grated Parmigiano-Reggiano

3/4 c. reduced fat sour cream (I used fat-free Greek yogurt, and it was delicious.)

2 tsp. lemon juice

1 clove minced garlic

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a food processor and blend til smooth.  I served ours on toasted bread.  Yum!

Basil Parmesan Dip

To go with that fabulous dip, I decided to make some of our favorite pork chops.  These Parmesan pork chops are super flavorful and easy to make.  Like the busy day pork chops I posted recently, these use on hand ingredients which is great for a weekday dinner, but they taste so good that they work for special dinners too.

Parmesan Pork Chops (from Taste of Home)

1/4 c. butter

1/4 c. grated Parmesan

2 tbsp. all purpose flour

2 tsp. Italian seasoning

2 tsp. dried parsley flakes

1/4 tsp. pepper

4 6 oz. pork loin chops

2 tbsp. olive oil

  1. Melt the butter.  In a large Ziploc, combine the Parmesan, flour, Italian seasoning, parsley, and pepper.  Dip each chop in the butter, place in the bag one at a time, and shake to coat.  (I actually use two shallow bowls, but whatever works best for you.)
  2. In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium heat and cook the chops 7-8 minutes on each side or til the juices run clear.   (I just stick  my meat thermometer in the thickest chop and set it for 160 degrees.)

Parmesan Pork Chops and Basil Parmesan DipParmesan Pork Chops

We rounded out our anniversary dinner with some leftover mac and cheese from a recipe that didn’t pan out and a chocolatey dessert that I’ll tell you about in a later post.  Have a great week, I’ve got something special coming up that I’m excited to share with you (hopefully) next week.

 

Leave a Reply

