Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Belated Burger May 31, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 9:56 PM
Tags:

So sorry about being MIA last week, it was completely unplanned.  Honestly, my husband and I were just hanging out last Tuesday having a great time, and I completely forgot what day it was.  Then the rest of the week was crazy busy, so I didn’t get a chance to rectify my oversight.  So now my burger recipe is a week late – oh well!  Now that I’m back, I wanted to share one of hubby and I’s favorite burger recipes.  These are so easy to make and flavor packed, you’d never realize that they’re actually fairly healthy.  The flavor comes from a little salsa and such a great assortment of spices that no one will be worried about the fact that these are turkey burgers.  (Personally, I’ve always been a turkey burger fan, but I understand that some people have had bad experiences.)  They suggest you top it with tomatoes, endive, and a salsa/sour cream mix, but you could also use cheese, guacamole, or whatever grabs your attention.  I would suspect that you could even get picky eaters to enjoy these.  😀

Mexican-Inspired Turkey Burgers (from Taste of Home)

1/2 c. salsa

1/4 c. shredded cheddar (They suggest low fat, I suggest extra sharp.)

1 tbsp. paprika

1 tsp. oregano

1 tsp. cumin

3/4 tsp. sugar

3/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. thyme

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. cayenne

1 lb. ground turkey

1/4 c. sour cream (I would swap in fat free Greek yogurt.)

4 hamburger buns

1/2 c. torn curly endive

1 medium chopped tomato

  1. In a large bowl, combine 1/4 c. salsa, cheese, and the spices.  Crumble the turkey into the bowl and mix well.  Shape into four burgers.
  2. Coat your grill rack with Pam.  Grill, covered, over medium heat for 5-7 minutes or til a meat thermometer reads 165 degrees and the juice run clear.  (We don’t have a grill, so I just cook it in a nonstick skillet.)
  3. In a small bowl, combine the sour cream with 1/4 c. salsa.  Place the burgers on the buns and top with the endive, tomatoes, and sour cream mixture.

Mexican Inspired Turkey BurgersMexican Inspired Turkey Burgers 2

What kind of burgers have you had lately?

 

Leave a Reply

