Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Super Salads May 10, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 9:07 PM
Tags: ,

I think it’s about time we had some salads on the blog.  I think I’ve mentioned it before, but sometimes when it’s hot out, I don’t feel like putting hot food anywhere near my mouth.  I long for cool, refreshing things to fill my belly with.  Sometimes though, it’s hard to get full that way.  A girl can only eat so much fruit before she needs something more.  Both of today’s salads will help you get past that feeling.  One is a salad worthy of being a side or a main (if topped with a little cooked chicken), and the other is a delicious fruit salad that can be a side, breakfast, or even dessert.

Let’s start with the green salad.  My husband is a BIG fan of Caesar salads.  He loves them!  I like a good Caesar too, but I don’t really make them often at home.  This salad might just change that.  Firstly, it adds kale to the romaine lettuce so that you have more nutrition.  Then you make a homemade dressing that’s lightened and brightened with some Greek yogurt and lime juice.  (The tang might seem strange at first, but give it a few more bites and I bet it’ll grow on you.  My hubby was very skeptical, but he liked it in the end.)  Then, because it is a Caesar salad after all, you top it with croutons (preferably homemade) and Parmesan cheese.  Delicious!!  My husband would prefer it over just romaine, but I enjoyed the variety the kale brought, plus it offsets the Parm, right?  😀

Kale Caesar Salad (from Gimme Some Oven)

For the dressing:

1/2 c. plain Greek yogurt

1/2 c. grated Parmesan

3-4 tbsp. lime juice (I would suggest you stick to just 3 tablespoons, it was very limey.)

1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

1-2 tsp. anchovy paste (To offset some of the limey-ness, we upped the savory flavors.  Yum!)

2 tsp. worcestershire sauce

1 clove minced garlic (We upped it to 2 cloves.)

1 tsp. Dijon mustard (And we used 2 tsp. mustard.)

1/4 tsp. salt

1 pinch black pepper

3-4 tbsp. milk

For the salad:

4 c. chopped kale

4 c. chopped romaine

2 c. croutons (I just put some olive oil on slices of French bread, toasted them til crisp, then chopped them into cubes.)

3/4 c. grated Parmesan

  1. In a medium bowl, mix together all the dressing ingredients except for the milk and stir til smooth.  Whisk in the milk a tbsp. at a time til you reach your desired dressing consistency.
  2. In a large bowl, toss together the kale, romaine, croutons, and parm.  Add the dressing and toss to coat.

Kale Caesar SaladKale Caesar Salad 2

On to the fruit salad.  I made this a couple of months ago for a baby shower, and it was a bigger hit than I could have imagined.  I’d made it in the past, but I didn’t remember it being as awesome as I found it this time.  As with most fruit salads, you can play around with the toppers and fruits according to what you have and/or prefer.  For the shower, I used 1 pineapple, 1 cantaloupe, and 2 lb. of strawberries, and it made plenty (though there was absolutely none left over).  The main time that you spend on this salad is just cutting your fruits.  For the shower, I cut all the fruit the day before and stored them in ziploc bags.  I also made up the dressing and put it in a mason jar.  Then all I had to was dump everything in a bowl and toss it together right before the shower – easy peasy.

Poppy Seed Fruit Salad (from Betty Crocker)

For the dressing: (I prefer mine lightly dressed, so I feel like this makes more dressing than you need.  Even if you’re sizing up the recipe, you probably won’t need to make extra dressing.)

1/4 c. honey

1/4 c. thawed frozen limeade concentrate

2 tsp. poppy seeds

For the salad:

1 c. halved strawberries

1 c. cubed pineapple

1 c. blueberries

1 c. cubed watermelon

1/4 c. toasted, slivered almonds (I think what took it over the edge for me this time, was that I used shaved coconut instead of almonds.  It still gave the salad some texture, but it also lent a very tropical feel to the salad.)

  1. In a medium bowl, mix together the dressing ingredients.
  2. Carefully toss the fruit with the honey mix; sprinkle with almonds.

Poppy Seed Fruit SaladPoppy Seed Fruit Salad 2

What’s your favorite salad?

 

Leave a Reply

