Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Let’s Balance Sweets with Salads February 16, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 9:54 PM
Tags:

I’ve tried so many delicious new things lately that I’m excited to share, but  I’ve also been remaking some old favorites that haven’t been on the blog yet and taking pictures so that I can finally share them here.  One of the new things that I tried was a delicious salad made of Brussels sprouts, walnuts, chicken, and a dressing that smells SOOO good.  (Seriously, I can not explain to you how amazing the smell is!)  I know that not a lot of people like Brussels sprouts, but you can’t really tell that’s what you’re eating.  Altogether, it’s a simple salad with just the right flavors.  I prepped mine on Saturday, and it was good the whole week.  (I only dressed individual salads right before I ate them.)  And if you have a food processor with a slicing blade, the whole thing comes together really quickly.  The original recipe has you cook them just a little bit, but I liked it just fine raw.

Chopped Brussels Sprout Salad with Chicken and Walnuts (from Pinch of Yum)

1 c. chopped or shredded, cooked chicken

4 c. sliced Brussels sprouts

1/2 c. chopped walnuts

1/4 c. Parmesan

1/2 c. chopped onion

1 tbsp. butter

Juice of 1 orange

1 tbsp. honey

2 tbsp. olive oil

  1. Toast the walnuts in a dry skillet.  Once they’re fragrant, remove them, add the butter and onion and cook over medium-high heat til the onions are golden brown, about 5 minutes.  (This is the part that smells incredible!) Transfer the onions to the food processor then add in the orange juice, honey, and olive oil.  Puree til smooth and creamy; season with salt and pepper.  (My dressing was a bit thick, which I didn’t mind.  If you wanted yours a bit thinner, you could try adding a little water or some more oil.)
  2. Place the Brussels sprouts in the empty pan over high heat.  Stir for 1-2 minutes or til fragrant and bright green.  Remove to a large bowl and add the walnuts, chicken, and parm and toss.  Toss with the dressing right before serving.  (Since I was using grated parm, I just added it in to the dressing.)

Chopped Brussles Sprouts Salad with Chicken and Walnuts

Just because I’ve had this salad around doesn’t mean that I haven’t been eating an Incredible cake that I made for Valentine’s Day.  But you’ll have to wait a bit longer to hear about that one.  😉

 

Leave a Reply

