Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Slow Days January 26, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 6:02 PM
Tags:

This is actually going to be quite a short post, as I only have one recipe to share.  Lately, I’ve been trying a number of new recipes (mostly gleaned from Pinterest), but few of them have turned out as I’d hoped.  As a consequence, I’ve used up nearly all the recipes I had in my notes to share with you; tonight’s is actually the very last one.  So what does this mean?  Merely, that I’m going to continue trying recipes and sharing the delicious ones with you.  I hope there will be no lag in posts, but I can’t promise it.  Also, I was in Florida visiting my family this week, so I didn’t get any cooking done.  (And I’m not at all sorry about it!)  For now, I’m going to give you a delicious gelato recipe, and we’ll just have to see how next week turns out.  😉

Now you might be wondering why I’m sharing a gelato recipe in the middle of a cold January, but I’m one of those strange people who could eat ice cream almost any time.  I actually made this recipe when it was warm outside, but it will work anytime you get a hankering for it.  It made a smooth, super chocolatey gelato that I really enjoyed.  If, like me, you need the occasional (or more often) ice cream fix, this might be the answer to your craving.  It uses 4 basic ingredients, and is very simple to make.  Here’s how to get it done.

Chocolate Gelato (from Saveur)

3 c. milk

3/4 c. sugar

2 tbsp. cornstarch

3/4 c. cocoa

  1. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, bring 2 c. milk to a simmer.  Once it simmers, remove it from the heat.  In a small bowl, combine 1 c. milk with the sugar, cornstarch, and cocoa.  Add this to the hot milk and stir til dissolved.
  2. Let the mix cool and refrigerate it overnight.  After chilling, churn according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.

Chocolate GelatoChocolate Gelato 2  (If you’re a little frightened by how dark mine is, don’t worry.  I love dark chocolate, so I tend to use Hershey’s special dark cocoa.  If you use regular cocoa, yours will be much lighter in color.)

Are you an ice cream anytime person, or do you only eat it when it’s hot outside?

 

Leave a Reply

