Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Hot Supper for Cold Days November 17, 2015

It’s been getting progressively colder here (yay!), so I’ve been making a lot more slow cooker recipes lately (double yay!), and now it’s time to share them with you. 🙂

This first recipe is an easy and delicious way to make butter chicken.  We got 5-6 servings out of this and they were so flavorful.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken (from Living Lou)

2 tbsp. olive oil

5 cubed, boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 finely diced onion

2 cloves minced garlic

2 tbsp. garam masala

1 tbsp. curry powder

1 tsp. turmeric

1/2 tsp. ginger

1/2 tsp. salt

6 oz. tomato paste

1/2 c. plain yogurt

1 c. coconut milk

  1. Heat the oil in a large pan over medium-high heat.  Brown the chicken on all sides, then transfer it to the slow cooker.  (I skipped this step, and it turned out just fine anyway.)
  2. Add the onions to the pan and cook 4-6 minutes.  Add the garlic, cook 1 minute, then transfer to the slow cooker.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients and pour over the chicken.
  4. Cook 5-6 hours on low.

Slow Cooker Butter ChickenSlow Cooker Butter Chicken 2

When I was younger, my mom would sometimes make a dish called Hawaiian chicken.  To be honest, I wasn’t a big fan of it; it was cooked with bone-in chicken parts (and you know I’m not a huge fan of eating meat on the bone) and was very ketchup-y.  Well, this hula chicken takes all the good parts of that dish and removes the (to me) bad.  It was so simple to throw in the crockpot and tasted great, plus it made 6-8 servings so it’s great to feed a family or have for leftovers.  I shared it with my mom, and she liked it just as much as her old recipe (maybe more, since it’s easier to do).   Another thing that I liked about this recipes was that it’s not the type of meal that needs to be confined to fall and winter.  (I love the slow cooker, but so many of the recipes are soups and chilis which make it harder to use in spring and summer.)  That means that I’ll be making it frequently come springtime.

Slow-Cooker Hula Chicken (from Betty Crocker)

1 c. pineapple juice, reserved from the can

1/3 c. soy sauce

1/2 c. ketchup (I don’t know how much ketchup was in my mom’s, but I feel fairly certain it was more than 1/2 cup.  I couldn’t taste the ketchup in this at all, and that’s the way I like it.) (Update: According to my mom, hers only has 1/3 c. of ketchup and then a couple tablespoons of chili sauce.  I don’t know why I remember hers tasting more ketchupy, but I can assure you that this one doesn’t.)

1 tbsp. rice vinegar

1/3 c. brown sugar (I’m going to cut back on this next time; I think it’ll still be plenty sweet because of all the pineapple in it.)

2 cloves minced garlic

1 tbsp. grated ginger

1-2 tbsp. sriracha

2 lb. boneless, skinless chicken thighs (I love using thighs in the slow cooker because they add a lot of flavor and don’t dry out easily.)

1 16 oz. can drained, juices reserved (see above) crushed or diced pineapple

  1. In a 5-6 quart slow cooker, mix together the pineapple juice, soy sauce, ketchup, vinegar, brown sugar, garlic, ginger, and sriracha.  Then add in the chicken and pineapple.
  2. Cover and cook on low 6-8 hours or on high 4-6 hours.  Once the chicken is cooked, remove it and shred it with 2 forks.  (I cut my chicken into largish chunks, so I didn’t have to shred it later.)  Return the chicken to the sauce, turn it on high, and cook (uncovered) for 25-30 minutes or til the sauce thickens. (I added a tablespoon or two of cornstarch to help it along.)  Serve over rice.

Slow-Cooker Hula ChickenSlow-Cooker Hula Chicken 6

Last of all comes a super delicious recipe for a healthy chili that has just the right blend of spices to make it taste incredible.  To be honest, my hubby wasn’t a big fan at first: there are…sweet potatoes…in this chili.  Personally, I like them, and hubby actually came around to it after the flavors melded for a day or so. (Though I think he still might prefer it without them.)  I also love that this makes plenty, about 8-10 servings.  Can you tell how much I love leftovers?  It was delicious both with cornbread and chips.

Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Chili (from A Nomad’s Dream)

28 oz. diced tomatoes

23 oz. tomato sauce

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. cayenne

1 tbsp. cumin

2 tsp. paprika

1 tbsp. brown sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

2 peeled, chopped sweet potatoes

1 chopped onion

2 cloves minced garlic

1 c. corn

2 15 oz. cans drained kidney beans

1 lb. ground beef

1 c. chicken broth

  1. In a dry skillet, roast the corn til charred.  Remove the corn to a plate, then brown the beef in the hot pan.
  2. Combine all the ingredients in the slow cooker and mix together.  Cook on low 8 hours.

Slow Cooker Sweet Potato ChiliSlow Cooker Sweet Potato Chili 2

Honestly, just talking about that chili has me wanting to make it again, definitely a new favorite.  Have you been using your slow cooker lately?

 

Leave a Reply

