Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Amazing Accompaniments November 3, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 5:42 PM
Tags: , ,

For those of you who might not know, 2 Fridays ago, my best friend had her baby girl.  Because of that, I got a bit behind on my usual schedule and didn’t have time to get a post out.  (She’s so adorable; I’m completely not sorry.)  Things have calmed down a bit now, so I’m back to my regular schedule, which means that you get a new post with some special recipes.  These recipes are a little different because they’re not main dishes or even awesome desserts.  One of the recipes is an awesome drink and the other two are condiments that can really add a lot of flavor to a dish.

First up is the drink recipe.  Honestly, I wish I’d tried this a few months ago, that way I could have enjoyed it all summer long.  The name of it is Amelia Island Punch (and I have no idea why), but it’s just pineapple lemonade.  I say “just”, but really it’s an incredible taste combination.  Why haven’t I tried this before?  This recipe uses a powdered lemonade mix, but I’m sure you could use the same ratio with a homemade lemonade too.  By the way, this would be the perfect drink to serve at a BBQ or summer party; it’s just so refreshing and super simple to make.

Amelia Island Punch (from Kraft)

1 packet lemonade mix (enough to make 2 quarts)

2 c. cold water

1 46 oz. can pineapple juice

  1. Mix all the ingredients together in a large pitcher until the drink mix dissolves.
  2. Refrigerate til chilled, and serve over crushed ice.

Amelia Island Punch 3

This next ingredient is one I’ve talked about a lot, but somehow I’ve never shared it.  It’s a recipe for classic pesto.  This recipe can just do so much, you can use it as a flavoring on vegetables,  pasta, sandwiches, or pizza.  Honestly, you can put it just anywhere you want!  Unfortunately, I don’t know where the recipe originally came from because there are just too many pesto recipes out there.  If you’ve got a bumper crop of basil starting to wilt in the cold, this would be a great way to use it up, and you could even freeze it (in an ice cube tray) and will keep a long time.

Pesto (provenance unknown)

2 c. basil leaves

2 cloves garlic

1/2 c. grated Parmesan

1/3 c. pine nuts (I usually make mine with walnuts, since pine nuts are SOO expensive.)

1/2 c. extra-virgin olive oil

  1. Using a food processor, finely chop the basil and garlic.  Add in the parm and nuts and pulse into a coarse paste.  With the machine running, slowly add in the oil til incorporated.  Season with salt and pepper.

PestoPesto 2

This last recipe is for one of my husband’s favorite condiments.  It’s a remoulade sauce that’s a little more special than just stirring lemon juice and relish into a dab of mayo.  We recently had it on some homemade fish stick, and it reminded both of us just how delicious it is.  The recipe was just enough for the two of us.

Remoulade (source unknown)

1/3 c. mayo

2 tbsp. chopped flat-leaf parsley (I didn’t have any fresh on hand, so I just added a sprinkle of dried.  Maybe 1/2 tsp.?)

1 tbsp. chopped chives (Same as the parsley.)

1 tbsp. pickle relish

1 tbsp. whole-grain Dijon mustard

1 tsp. lemon juice

1/8 tsp. salt

1 clove minced garlic

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a small bowl.

Remoulade I know it doesn’t look like much, but it really does pack a lot of flavor.

Do you have any favorite accompaniment recipes?

 

Leave a Reply

