Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

More Healthy Treats October 13, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 4:51 PM
Tags: ,

Y’all know by now that I have a real sweet tooth, but I try to curb it by finding tasty, healthier treats.  And today I’m going to share a couple of those treats with you.

This first recipe is another iteration of granola.  This one’s just barely sweet, but has a really nice flavor.  (And if you’re like me, you find that the taste of coconut oil sometimes tricks your brain into thinking it’s sweeter than it is – since we’re so used to coconut in sweet dishes.)  It was also very easy to make, and it makes plenty of granola.

Coconut Oil Granola (from Pinch of Yum)

3 c. rolled oats

1 c. chopped pecans

1/2 – 3/4 c. chopped pistachios

1/2 c. white whole wheat flour

1/4 c. chia seeds

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 c. golden raisins

3/4 c. melted coconut oil

2 tbsp. honey

2 tbsp. maple syrup

  1. Preheat the oven to 250 degrees.  In a large bowl, mix together the oats, pecans, pistachios, flour, chia seeds, cinnamon, and salt.  In a small bowl, whisk together the coconut oil, honey, and syrup til smooth.  Add the wet mix to the dry and stir til moistened.
  2. Spread the granola in a thin layer on 1-2 baking sheets.  Bake 1 hour, stirring every 20 minutes, and stirring in the raisins for the last 20 minutes.  After removing the granola from the oven, do not stir it.  The granola will form clumps as it cools.

Coconut Oil GranolaCoconut Oil Granola 2

This next recipe actually has some sugar in it, but I feel like it’s still really tasty and pretty healthy.  Honestly, people really won’t be able to tell what the secret ingredient is.  It was tasty, and I think it could actually be even healthier.  When I make this the next time, I’m definitely going to cut back on the chocolate chips and possibly even on the sugar, but you should probably start with it as written to see what you think.

Flourless Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars (from Tone It Up)

1 16 oz. can drained chickpeas (This is the secret ingredient, but if you don’t tell, I won’t.)

3/4 c. almond butter

2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 c. coconut sugar (I don’t keep that on hand, so I just used brown sugar.)

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 1/2 c. chocolate chips (I’m definitely cutting it down to at least 1 c.)

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×9 pan.  Place all the ingredients except for the chocolate chips in a food processor and blend til smooth.  Stir in the chocolate chips and pour in the pan.
  2. Bake 45-60 minutes or til browned.  Cool 10-15 minutes before cutting into squares.

Flourless Chocolate Chip Cookie BarsFlourless Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars 2

I was looking at my list of recipes to share with y’all, and I noticed that it’s getting a little low.  I guess that means that I need to try some new recipes.  😉

 

Leave a Reply

