Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

To Die For!!! September 1, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 3:28 PM
Tags:

This has to be a short post today, because we’re getting ready to go to dinner with some family, but I couldn’t waste any time sharing this awesome recipe that I made this past weekend.  I am a BIG fan of cinnamon rolls, but I’ve never made them for myself.  Though I’m comfortable using my bread maker, I get a little confused with the many types of yeast that other recipes call for.  This recipe lets the bread machine make the dough (which was super easy to work with), then you just roll them out and form them.  I was a little nervous about how this would turn out (since I was planning to share some with some friends), but the recipe worked beautifully (even with all my mistakes – like getting distracted while rolling them out and letting them sit for quite a while).  The biggest difference I made is that you’re instructed to cut the dough into 12 rolls (which must be gargantuan), but I cut mine into 18 – which nicely filled two 8×8 pans.  Because I made more rolls than it called for, I thought I should also make more frosting to cover them (and you can never have too much frosting to my mind), but I only had 4 ounces of cream cheese.  I decided to use 4 ounces of cream cheese and almost 4 ounces of Greek yogurt, then I would just double the remaining frosting ingredients.  I was a trifle nervous, but it worked out perfectly, and I don’t think you could tell the difference.  These are supposed to be clones of Cinnabon’s rolls, but I haven’t had Cinnabon often enough to tell you whether or not these taste similar.  I can tell you that these are some of the tastiest cinnamon rolls I’ve ever had, and that you should definitely make them soon!

Cinnabon Clones (from AllRecipes.com)

For the dough:

1 c. warm milk (110 degrees)

2 eggs

1/3 c. melted butter

4 1/2 c. bread flour

1 tsp. salt

1/2 c. sugar

2 1/2 tsp. bread machine yeast

For the filling:

1 c. brown sugar

2 1/2 tbsp. cinnamon

1/3 c. softened butter

For the frosting:

3 oz. softened cream cheese

1/4 c. softened butter

1 1/2 c. confectioner’s sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/8 tsp. salt

  1. Place the dough ingredients in your bread maker according to the manufacturer’s recommended order.  Select the dough cycle and press start.
  2. Once the dough is done, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface, cover, and let rest 10 minutes.  In a small bowl, combine the brown sugar and cinnamon.
  3. Roll the dough into a 16×21 inch rectangle and spread the dough with the 1/3 c. softened butter.  Then sprinkle the butter with the brown sugar and cinnamon mix.  Roll the dough up and cut into 12 rolls.  Place the rolls in a lightly greased 9×13 pan.  Cover and let rise til nearly doubled, about 30 minutes.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  4. Bake the rolls til golden brown, about 15 minutes.  In a medium bowl, beat together the frosting ingredients, then spread the frosting on the rolls.

Cinnabon Clones Cinnabon Clones 4

 

Leave a Reply

