Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Fast, Light, and Easy August 11, 2015

It seems like at least once a month I have a week that gets busier than I expect it to, and I end up missing or delaying a post.  I guess that’s life, huh?  I’ve got some lovely recipes for you, but first I have to ask if you noticed anything different about today’s post?  If you give up, I’ll tell you anyway. 😉  WordPress recently gave bloggers the option to change the fonts used on their blogs, so I took advantage of it and updated my fonts with a more modern, easier-to-read look.  What do you think?  (Apparently, you can’t see it in the e-mails, just on the actual site.)

Now for today’s post, I have 3 recipes that require little to no cooking.  They’re light (for hot, humid days when you just don’t feel like having anything heavy on your belly) and, of course, they’re tasty.  This first recipe is one I’ve been making for years, though it’s really not that much of a recipe.  The basic idea is to make some toast, smear it with ricotta, then drizzle on some honey and cracked black pepper.  That’s it!  I find it’s a great way to use up a little bit of leftover ricotta, and it would be a nice light appetizer for a party.  While the “official” recipe has you make crostini, you can make this equally well with a regular piece of toasted bread (and you wouldn’t have to turn on your oven).

Ricotta-Honey Crostini (from the August 2006 issue of Everyday with Rachael Ray)

1 baguette cut in 1/4 in. slices

Extra virgin olive oil

3 tbsp. ricotta

2-3 tbsp. honey

Fresh cracked black pepper

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Arrange the baguette slices on a baking sheet and brush the tops with the olive oil.  Bake til the edges start to turn golden, about 10 minutes.  Let cool slightly.
  2. Smear each toast with about a tsp. of ricotta, then drizzle with honey, and sprinkle with pepper.

Ricotta-Honey CrostiniRicotta-Honey Crostini 4

Next is a really easy and pretty healthy freezer fudge.  When I first finished this recipe, I was a little put out by how thin the fudge lay in the pan.  Once it had set up and I tried some, I realized that a little would go a long way.  It’s so nice to have this little stash of fudge in the freezer so I can just grab a piece or two whenever I need a little bit of something sweet.  And the fudge just couldn’t be easier to make.  There’s just a little bit of sweetener in this, but I really didn’t need any more (though you could always add more to suit your preferences).  The use of coconut oil kind of tricks your brain into thinking it’s sweeter than it is.  Unfortunately, I skimped on the chocolate chips (since I like my regular pb fudge by itself), but I really liked the occasional bite of the dark, slightly sweet chocolate.  Next time I might try using the mini chocolate chips, so that I can get a more even distribution.

Peanut Butter Freezer Fudge (from Money Saving Mom)

1 c. natural peanut butter (You could use regular, but it won’t be as healthy.)

4 tbsp. coconut oil

1 1/2 tbsp. maple syrup

4 oz. dark chocolate chips (I’d like to use mini chocolate chips next time.)

1/2 tsp. sea salt (I forgot to use any salt, but I’m sure it would give it that wonderful sweet/salty balance of flavor.)

  1. In a medium bowl, cream together the peanut butter, coconut oil, maple syrup, and salt.  Pour into a foil-lined 8×8 pan.
  2. Top the fudge with the chocolate chips and freeze for at least 2 hours.
  3. Once it’s frozen, remove the fudge from the freezer and cut it into 1 inch squares.  Store it in the freezer in an air tight container.

Peanut Butter Freezer FudgePeanut Butter Freezer Fudge 2

The last recipe I want to share today is another of those healthy snack/dessert bites that I’ve really come to love.  This one is just stirred together then scooped out onto a tray, so it couldn’t be easier.  I felt it had a touch too much honey, but you’ll have to judge for yourself.  (My hubby liked them the way they were.)  If you’re getting tired of these types of recipes, you can feel free to stop now, but I just love having little bites like this on hand, and I like them even more when they’re a cinch to make.  P.S. It made about 18 bites.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bites (from Get Creative Juice)

1 c. oats

2/3 c. toasted, unsweetened, shredded coconut

1/2 c. peanut butter

1/2 c. mini chocolate chips

1/3 c. honey (I’m going to try 1/4 c. next time.)

1 tbsp. chia seeds

1 tsp. vanilla

  1. In a large bowl, mix together all the ingredients.  Scoop the mix into 1 inch balls and place on a parchment lined pan.  Chill for a few minutes then store in an air tight container in the fridge.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal BitesPeanut Butter Oatmeal Bites 2

What’s one of your favorite no-cook meals or snacks?

 

Leave a Reply

