Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

A Quick Recipe for a Busy Week July 1, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 4:09 PM
Tags:

Sorry for the late post, but it’s a crazy time lately.  We ran some errands yesterday, came home, and then my computer screen decided to die.  Long story short, I’m getting a new laptop tonight.  :/  I knew my laptop was getting old, so I have been saving up; I just don’t like having to use it so soon and with so little ability to really search for what I want.  Still, it’s a blessing that we were able to find a good one on sale and that I had almost all the money saved up.  Anyways, dealing with that is why I couldn’t post last night.  Still, I thought that I’d try to get in a short post today (if my laptop will hold out long enough).

Last week my best friend and I decided that we simply HAD to try this pancake recipe we’d seen recently on our favorite blog, Smitten Kitchen.  These certainly did not disappointment.  To me, they seem like a lovely cross between cornbread and pancakes.  I would actually enjoy a bit more cornmeal in mine next time, but really that’s just personal preference.  I also think that these would be good with any number of fruit in them, so feel free to try them with whatever you have on hand.

Strawberry Cornmeal Griddle Cakes (from Smitten Kitchen)

3/4 c. all-purpose flour

3/4 c. cornmeal

2 tbsp. sugar (My best friend talked about leaving this out and making the cakes savory for a dinner side – something that I agree is eminently doable.)

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

3 tbsp. butter

1 c. buttermilk

2 eggs

1 c. chopped strawberries

1. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In a separate bowl, melt the butter, then whisk in the buttermilk.  Whisk in the eggs, one at a time, then stir in the strawberries.  Add the wet mix to the dry and stir just til combined.

2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat and grease with a little more butter.  Pour the batter in by 1/4 cupfuls.  Cook 1-2 minutes per side til golden brown.

Strawberry Cornmeal Griddle Cakes  (I forgot to take pictures with my DSLR, but this is what I had posted on Instagram.)

And that’s it for today, hopefully next week will be back on schedule.  Enjoy your 4th of July weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

