Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Breakfast Two Ways June 16, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 10:11 PM
Tags: ,

Today’s post is going to focus on what’s been called the most important meal of the day: breakfast!  I’ve got a healthy breakfast and a more indulgent breakfast, where should we start?  Healthy you say?  Here it goes!

While my husband’s on the night shift, we’ve had to adjust our eating schedules.  He doesn’t have much time between waking up and “dinner”, but I still want him to have a little something to keep him going.  Enter these power bars.  They’re easy to make, healthy, and keep his stomach from growling before dinner time.  I got about 8 bars from the recipe, and I really appreciated how well they held together, even though I used natural peanut butter.

Chewy Almond Butter Power Bars (from Foodie Crush)

1/2 c. almond butter (I used peanut butter since it’s what I had on hand.)

1/2 c. honey

1 c. toasted rolled oats

1/2 c. puffed brown rice

1/2 c. puffed quinoa or millet (I found puffed millet at Central Market, but you could always double up on the puffed brown rice.)

1/2 c. sliced almonds

1/4 c. chopped dried cherries

1/4 c. dried blueberries

1/4 c. chopped dried apricots

Chewy Almond Butter Power BarsChewy Almond Butter Power Bars 2

The indulgent breakfast is a loaf of cinnamon roll bread.  It had an interesting chewy texture, a wonderful flavor, and an aroma that filled the whole house.  It was also really easy to put together.  It was kind of pretty on the inside, but unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture of it.  😦      I guess we ate it too fast.  Still you can easily make it for yourself, and I’ll try to add a picture the next time I make it.

Cinnamon Roll Bread (from Macaroni & Cheesecake)

2 c. all-purpose flour

1 tbsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 c. sugar

1 egg

1 c. milk

1/3 c. sour cream

1/3 c. sugar

2 tsp. cinnamon

2 tbsp. water

1/2 c. confectioner’s sugar

2 tbsp. milk

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a loaf pan.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.

2. In another medium bowl, mix together 1/2 c. sugar, egg, 1 c. milk, and sour cream.  Gradually add in the flour mix and stir til incorporated.  Pour into the pan.

3. In a small bowl, mix together 1/3 c. sugar, cinnamon, and water.  (It will be thin.)  Spoon the cinnamon mix over the batter and use a knife to swirl into the bread.

4. Bake 40-45 minutes or til a toothpick removes cleanly from the center.  Let cool in the pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes.

5. In another small bowl, stir together the confectioner’s sugar and 2 tbsp. milk.  (This mix will also be thin.)  After the bread has cooled a bit, drizzle the icing over the bread and let it cool completely in the pan.

Though I’m not usually very hungry when I wake up, I make an effort to eat a little breakfast.  My preference is for a little fruit and a pastry (Aren’t I continental?), though I tend to go with a power bar or some cereal.  What’s your breakfast go-to?

 

One Response to “Breakfast Two Ways”

  1. […] went on the blog to see if I’d used already and…I had.  😦  But then I looked at that post and realized that this could be a second installment since these recipes are similar.  Like the […]


Leave a Reply

