Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Slow Cooker Supper May 5, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 8:49 PM
Tags:

So I know it’s Cinco de Mayo, but I’m not going to share any Mexican food with you today.  First of all, I haven’t made any new Mexican recipes for a while.  Secondly, we never really celebrate it.  I mean, we live in Texas and eat Mexican food on a regular basis, so it doesn’t seem necessary.  Instead, I’m going to share with you one of the tastiest and easiest slow cooker curries we’ve ever tried.  You barely have to do anything, and it gives you so much of a flavorful, delicious dish.  We got 6 servings out of it and enjoyed each one enormously.

Slow Cooker Coconut Chicken Curry (from A Cedar Spoon)

2 lb. chicken thighs (I chopped mine for faster cooking.)

1 cubed bell pepper

1 sliced jalapeno

1/2 chopped sweet onion

5 peeled, chopped carrots

1 14 1/2 oz. can diced tomatoes

2 cloves minced garlic

1/2 c. coconut milk (I wanted even more coconut flavor, so I’ll try doubling this next time.)

2 tbsp. curry powder

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. crushed red pepper

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. coriander

6 oz. tomato paste (I thought this took over the flavor a little too much, so next time I’ll try just 3 oz.)

1. Trim the fat off the chicken and place it in the bottom of the slow cooker with the bell pepper, jalapeno, onion, carrots, and diced tomatoes.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients til combined.

3. Pour the sauce in the slow cooker and stir to coat.

4. Cook on low for 6 hours (or high for 4 hours) or til cooked through.

5. Serve over rice and top with cashews or toasted coconut.

Slow Cooker Coconut Chicken CurrySlow Cooker Coconut Chicken Curry 2(I might have gone a little crazy with the cashews.)

So, do you celebrate Cinco de Mayo, and if you do, what do you fix?

 

Leave a Reply

