Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Can You Tell What I’m Craving? April 28, 2015

Before I get into my cravings, I wanted to share some upcoming deals that have definitely caught my attention.  First up, Orange Leaf (frozen yogurt) just brought back their pink lemonade flavor.  That sounds like a fun flavor to try for these increasingly warm days.

Starbucks is also bringing something back, their Frappuccino Happy Hour!  From May 1-May 10 between 3 and 5 PM, you can get frappes for half price.  They’ve debuted a new flavor (S’mores!!!) that I’m really looking forward to trying (maybe even this weekend).

Now for your first clue to what I’m craving.  (And, for the record, I am NOT pregnant.  Regular people get cravings too.)  These healthy chocolate chip cookies really surprised me.  I tried them mostly to use up 2 very ripe bananas, but they tasted way better than I expected.  Unlike the banana-oat chocolate chip cookies I posted last year, these don’t taste that much like banana.  They don’t taste exactly like a regular chocolate chip cookie, but they are really tasty.  As a bonus, they’re completely healthy!  They’re gluten-free, egg free, dairy free (depending on the chocolate chips you use), and you can feel really good about eating this and giving it to your family.  I can tell you that these will definitely be a regular in our house.  I also really love how you can easily change these up; I’m planning a trail mix version for the next batch.  It’ll have sunflower seeds, peanuts, raisins, and chocolate chips.  I got 28 of these when I made them, so there’ll be plenty to share.

Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies (from Macaroni & Cheesecake)

2 mashed bananas

1/3 c. peanut butter

2/3 c. unsweetened applesauce  (This is key because it mutes some of the banana flavor.)

1 tsp. honey

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

2 dashes nutmeg

1 1/2 c. quick-cooking oats

1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips

1/4 c. chopped peanuts (I used chopped pecans instead and really liked it.)

1/4 c. unsweetened coconut

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line 2 baking sheets with parchment.

2. In a medium bowl, stir together the bananas, peanut butter, applesauce, honey, vanilla, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Stir in the oats til incorporated.  Add in the chocolate chips, nuts, and coconut and stir to combine.

3. Drop the dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto the baking sheets, spacing them about 1 inch apart (since they don’t spread).

4. Bake 20-25 minutes, til the cookies are set, slightly crisp on top, and are easily moved.  Place on a wire rack to cool completely.

Healthy Chocolate Chip CookiesHealthy Chocolate Chip Cookies 2

Now we get to what I’m really craving.  How do you feel about cookie dough?  Do you like it?  Love it?  Live for it?  I’ve always liked cookie dough, and while I’ll definitely lick the beaters or scrape the bowl, I’m not the kind to buy cookie dough and just eat the entire package raw.  Then came this recipe.  It’s easy and super quick to make, can feed 2 people (or 1 who’s especially hungry), and tastes just like cookie dough without the raw egg worry.  I’m just obsessed with this lately, and I’m having a hard time not eating it every day.  Try it if you dare, but I warned you.  😉

Cookie Dough for Two (from Family Fresh Meals)

1/4 c. brown sugar

2 tbsp. softened butter (You do not have to think about this ahead of time.  I just nuke the butter and proceed.  Since you’re not baking it, it doesn’t matter if some of the butter melts.)

1/8 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. vanilla

1 tbsp. milk

5 tbsp. flour

2 tbsp. chocolate chips (I think the mini ones are perfect.)

1. Mix together the butter, brown sugar, salt, and vanilla til well combined.

2. Mix in the milk, then add the flour 1 tbsp. at a time til you reach a cookie dough texture.

3. Mix in the chocolate chips and enjoy!

Cookie Dough for TwoCookie Dough for Two 2

What’s your latest obsession?

 

Leave a Reply

