Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Good Things in Small Packages April 21, 2015

I know everybody knows that saying, but did you know that it can apply to food and not just little blue jewelry boxes?  It really does, but before I show you the proof, I wanted to share a couple of upcoming deals that you might want to check out.

Next week (4/28), Krispy Kreme is celebrating Hero Day by offering a free dozen glazed donuts with the purchase of a dozen donuts.  Though it’s not mandatory, they encourage you to share the extra dozen with some heroes in your life (their examples are moms, teachers, police officers, etc.).  Sounds like a pretty cool idea.

Also, Sonic must think it’s summer already because they’re back with their half-price shakes after 8 pm (from now through Sep. 1).  I know my hubby for one will be happy to hear that.

The first small treasure I wanted to share was really something that I made just to use up some egg whites, but it turned out so incredibly that it didn’t even last a day at my house.  The other funny thing about this is that I tweaked the recipe to fit what I had on hand + a random Pinterest inspiration, but they turned into the best lime and coconut macaroons I’ve ever tasted.  Here’s how to make them.

One Bowl Coconut Macaroons (from Kraft)

1 14 oz. package sweetened, shredded coconut (I only had 1/2 that amount in sweetened, so I subbed in unsweetened for the rest.  The nice part was that I then needed extra moisture, so I could add in the juice and zest of 1 lime.)

2/3 c. sugar

6 tbsp. flour

1/4 tsp. salt

4 egg whites

1 tsp. almond extract (As I’m sure you can guess, I omitted this entirely.)

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Grease and flour 2 baking sheets.  In a large bowl, combine the coconut, sugar, flour, and salt.  Stir in the egg whites and extract (or lime juice and zest) til well blended.

2. Drop by tablespoonfuls 2 inches apart onto the prepared sheets.  (I used my 1 1/2 tbsp. cookie scoop to portion them and got 2 dozen cookies.)

3. Bake for 20 minutes or til the edges are golden brown.  Immediately place on wire racks to cool completely.

One Bowl Coconut MacaroonsOne Bowl Coconut Macaroons 2

Back in January, I posted a recipe for a healthy little bite that you could use to get over your midday slump or to healthily satisfy your sweet tooth.  Unbeknownst to y’all, I’ve been trying many of those types of recipes during this year, and I have come across a winner.  This one was SOOO good.  I meant to share these with my husband; I even offered them to him once or twice.  But he never took me up on them, and I devoured them all (In case you’re wondering, I only made a half batch.).  They’re just that addictive!  And they’re super easy.  Most of these recipes involve soaking dates or using the food processor, but these ones come together in just minutes with one bowl.  I got 8 in my half batch, but I can almost promise you that you’re going to want the whole batch just for yourself.

Chocolate Peanut Butter No-Bake Energy Bites (from Gimme Some Oven)

1 c. old-fashioned oats

2/3 c. toasted, unsweetened coconut flakes

1/2 c. peanut butter

1/2 c. ground flax seeds (I didn’t have this, but I’d love to try it next time.)

1/3 c. honey

1/4 c. cocoa

1 tbsp. chia seeds

1 tsp. vanilla

1. In a medium bowl, stir all the ingredients together.  Cover and chill at least 30 minutes.

2. After chilling, roll into balls.  Store in the fridge or freezer.

(So, I think that you could portion them out immediately with the help of a cookie scoop.  I’ll try it next time and let you know how it goes.)

Chocolate Peanut Butter No-Bake Energy BitesChocolate Peanut Butter No-Bake Energy Bites 2

What are some of your favorite good things in small packages?

 

Leave a Reply

