Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

How About Some Cookies? April 7, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 4:09 PM
Tags: ,

I have to apologize for not posting last week.  Between jury duty, playing catch up, babysitting, helping decorate for a baby shower, and having my husband home, I just ran out of time.  Thankfully, I was able to catch up this weekend, so now I can post some treats.

This first cookie recipe is one I’ve had for a while, but I guess I just assumed that I’d already posted it.  The last time I made it I double-checked the blog to see if it needed pictures, and I was surprised to find that the recipe wasn’t even on here.  There are some big benefits to making this recipe, the first being how customizable it is.  Since the basis of these cookies is a cake mix, that gives you a myriad of options right at the start.  I also like that it’s incredibly easy to whip up, it’s fast, and it makes a large number of cookies (2 1/2-3 dozen).  Some of my favorite combos are orange and chocolate, strawberry and chocolate, and chocolate and peanut butter.

Cake Mix Cookies (from one of my grad school roommates)

1 box cake mix

1 egg

1/4 c. oil

1/3 c. milk

1 bag baking chips (chocolate, peanut butter, whatever sounds good)

1. In a medium bowl, mix all the ingredients together.  Portion onto a baking sheet (I use my handy cookie scoop.) and bake at 375 degrees for 10 minutes.

Cake Mix CookiesCake Mix Cookies 2

 

This next cookie is a new favorite of my husband’s.  It’s a peanut butter banana cookie, and I think that says almost everything.  These have a nice balance of pb and banana flavors.  I thought it was a little too sweet, so next time I’ll cut back just a little on the sugar.  The procedure for these is similar to a regular peanut butter cookie, and they yield 18 good-sized cookies per batch.

Peanut Butter Banana Cookies (by Yammie’s Noshery)

1/2 c. peanut butter

1/4 c. softened butter

1 c. brown sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

1/3 c. mashed banana (about 1)

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/4 c. sugar

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl, mix together the pb, butter, and brown sugar til well combined.  Add the vanilla and banana and mix well.

2. Add the dry ingredients and mix just til combined.  Roll into balls then roll in the regular sugar.  Place on a baking sheet and flatten with a fork.

3. Bake 9-11 minutes or til lightly golden brown.  Cool on a wire rack.

Peanut Butter Banana CookiesPeanut Butter Banana Cookies 2

 

So how have you been lately?  Did you have a nice Easter?

 

Leave a Reply

