Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

New Favorite February 6, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 10:29 PM
Tags:

I think by now you might have guessed that I got very behind this week.   Still, I didn’t want to leave you hanging, so I’m going to squeeze in a quick recipe now, then we can catch up more at our regular time next week (I hope!).  I found this recipe in a recent issue of Cooking Light, and I promptly bought the half and half to try it out.  What intrigued me most was that it used a lot of milk (3 c.) and only a little half and half.  I mentioned before that I love cinnamon ice cream, so obviously I had to try this.  We always have a few cups of the old gallon of milk left when I bring home the new one, so I thought this could be a great use up for it.  And, oh boy, is it!  This recipe takes a little more work than my basic vanilla recipe, but to me it’s worth it.  Since there’s not a ton of milk fat in this recipe, it’s thickened with cornstarch.  Surprisingly, the cornstarch turns out a smooth creamy treat that’s a perfect base for any number of variations.  I made the first batch as written (and it was awesome), but the next time I made it, I omitted the cinnamon and added in almost a pound of pureed strawberries (originally frozen) to make a light strawberry flavor that I’m loving.  I can almost guarantee you that I’m going to be playing with this recipe all year long.  I’m leaning towards mint chocolate chip for my next batch, but there are so many options to play with: spices, fruits to puree, jams and jellies to swirl in, add-ins to crunch on.  I can’t wait for my next batch; I guess that means we’d better get to eating on the current flavor!  Here’s how you can get to work on your own variations.

Cinnamon Gelato (from the January/February 2015 issue of Cooking Light)

1 c. sugar

1 c. half and half

3 c. 1% milk

2 1/2 tbsp. cornstarch

1 tsp. vanilla

3/4 tsp. cinnamon

1. In a large saucepan over medium heat, whisk together the sugar, half & half, and 2 1/2 c. milk.  In a measuring cup, whisk together the cornstarch with the remaining 1/2 c. milk.  Stir the cornstarch mix into the sugar mix, bring to a boil, and cook for 2 minutes, stirring often.  Once it’s cooked, strain the mix into a bowl and stir in the vanilla and cinnamon.

2. Chill the mix til cold, stirring occasionally.  Once cold, process according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.  Place the processed gelato in a container and freeze at least 2 hours or til firm.

Cinnamon GelatoCinnamon Gelato 3

What variation would you try first?

 

Leave a Reply

