Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Easy Peasy January 20, 2015

Let’s talk foods with less than 10 ingredients that come together in a flash.  Today, I’ve got you set with a fast as lightning side, a quick make-ahead dinner, and a ten minute snack/dessert.

This side is so fast, and you honestly can’t go wrong with garlic, butter, and parm.  I roasted fresh green beans for mine (it was Thanksgiving, after all), but you could use this technique to gussy up frozen (as directed), canned, or fresh beans cooked in your favorite way.

Parmesan-Garlic Butter Green Beans (from Pillsbury.com)

1 22 oz. bag frozen green beans

1/4 c. butter

2 cloves finely chopped garlic

2 tbsp. grated Parmesan

1. Cook the green beans according to the package directions.  Drain and place in a serving bowl.

2. In a 1 qt. saucepan, melt the butter over medium-low heat.  Add the garlic and cook 2-3 minutes, stirring frequently, til tender.

3. Pour the garlic butter over the green beans and stir to coat.  Sprinkle with the Parmesan and toss gently.

Parmesan-Garlic Butter Green Beans

For an entree, I offer you some very spicy Thai noodles.  These are basic, easy, hot (as in spicy), and delicious, but not healthy by any stretch of the imagination.  The sauce is very easy to whip up, but (heads up!) it does need to sit for at least a few hours.  Some people might see that as a problem (and it could be if you didn’t read the recipe until 10 minutes before you need dinner on the table), but I see it as an opportunity to make it ahead and have a super fast dinner the next day.

Spicy Thai Noodles (from A Small Snippet blog)

1 lb. linguine or angel hair pasta

1 tbsp. crushed red pepper (This is pretty hot, so you might want to start with 1 tsp. and work up from there.)

1/4 c. veggie oil

1/2 c. sesame oil

6 tbsp. honey

6 tbsp. soy sauce

Optional toppings: green onions, cilantro, peanuts, sesame seeds

1. Boil and drain the noodles according to the package directions.

2. In a small saucepan, heat the oils and pepper over medium heat.  Strain out the pepper and reserve the oil.  Whisk the honey and soy sauce into the oil.

3. Toss the noodles in the oil, then put in the fridge overnight or til cold.

4. Once you’re getting ready to serve this, chop any toppings that you plan on using.  Top your noodles and slurp away.

Spicy Thai NoodlesSpicy Thai Noodles 3

And now for the most amazing recipe yet: a quick snack or a mostly healthy dessert.  Just because I’m trying to eat healthy doesn’t mean that I’ve given up my sweet tooth.  Instead, I’m trying to keep semi-healthy sweet bites around, so I’m not tempted to go binge on Krispy Kreme or Haagen-Dazs.  For a chocolate fix, I keep chocolate covered nuts or fruit on hand.  For when I want something more substantial, I’ve been trying out “healthy” dessert recipes.  These are actually billed as energy bites, but to me they taste like a cookie.  These were so easy to make, and I’m really impressed with the results.  I’d tried another bite recipe a few months ago, but that one just wasn’t palatable, so I’m really grateful these worked better.  (I just made these on Saturday, is it too soon to say I’m in love?)

Apple Almond Energy Bites (from My Whole Food Life blog)

2 c. rolled oats

1 sliced apple

1 c. almond butter (I used pb this time, but I’m going to pick up some almond butter for my next batch.)

2 tbsp. hemp hearts (I didn’t have any, so I just left them out.)

2 tbsp. chia seeds

2 tsp. cinnamon

2 tbsp. maple syrup (or honey)

1. Combine all but the syrup in the food processor.  Process til well combined.  Taste and add syrup if you think it needs more sweetness.  You can also add more oats if it’s too wet.

2. Use a cookie scoop to portion the mix onto a wax or parchment lined baking sheet.  Chill 30 minutes to let set.  Store in the fridge or freezer.

Apple Almond Energy BitesApple Almond Energy Bites 2

What is your favorite easy, peasy dish?

 

One Response to “Easy Peasy”

  1. […] in January, I posted a recipe for a healthy little bite that you could use for to get over your midday slump or to healthily […]


Leave a Reply

