Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Wanna Gain Some Weight? January 13, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 10:28 PM
Tags: , ,

Lately I’ve been posting a lot about healthy foods, but I didn’t want y’all to think that I no longer eat delicious, fattening foods.  I do!  You can’t eat rabbit food all the time.  (Who’d want to?)  The first indulgence I want to share today is one that’s somewhat of a tradition in my family.  We usually eat it around New Years.  I actually haven’t had it in years, but I just kind of had a craving for it this year.  We call it a hot ham and cheese, but that doesn’t really explain how awesome it is.  Basically you fry super thinly sliced honey ham in butter, place it on a buttered and toasted roll, then top it with mayo, tomato, lettuce, and melty American cheese.  It’s completely bad for you and totally delicious.  We usually serve it with chips, but this time I served it with fries and a special sauce that I’ll get to next.  I don’t actually have a recipe for the sandwich, but I’ll give you the gist.  My mom’s the real pro at these, and I’m sure she’ll help me correct anything I get wrong.  I’m going to give you the ingredients for 1 sandwich, and you can scale up for however many you need.  I usually eat 2, and guys would probably want 3 or more.

Hot Ham and Cheese (from my mom)

1 seeded hamburger bun

2 super thinly sliced (but not shaved) pieces of good honey ham from the deli

1 tomato slice

1 lettuce leaf

1 slice American cheese

1. On a griddle or in a pan, toast the bun in melted butter.  Once it’s toasted, spread both pieces with mayo.  (My dad prefers Miracle Whip, but I strongly dislike that so I stick to mayo.)

2. In another fry pan, melt some butter.  Place in one or both pieces of the ham (depending on the size of your pan) and fry til crisp (think bacon).

3. Top the bottom half of the bun with lettuce, tomato, ham slices, cheese, and top bun half.  Nuke for about 30 seconds or til the cheese gets melty.

Note:  These are delicious, addictive, and messy.  You should definitely have napkins or paper towels handy.

Hot Ham and CheeseHot Ham and Cheese 2

Now let’s talk about that sauce.  I love Chick-fil-A!  I love their nuggets, and I love dipping them (and waffle fries) in their delicious sauce.  Last year, a blogger I follow posted a recipe for making that delicious sauce at home.  A few months ago, I tried it, and it really does taste just like their sauce, so you can use it to quell a craving when you’re not near one of the restaurants.

Homemade Chick-fil-A Sauce (Macaroni & Cheesecake)

1/2 c. light mayo

2 tsp. mustard

1 tsp. lemon juice

2 tbsp. honey

1 tbsp. smoky bbq sauce

1. Whisk all the ingredients together in a small bowl and let chill for 15-30 minutes.  (This sauce is really good right when you make, but it won’t actually taste like the Chick-fil-A sauce unless you let the flavors meld for a while.  I think overnight is best, but try to make it at least 30 minutes ahead.  Also, this recipe makes enough for 4 servings.)

Homemade Chick-fil-A Sauce 2

Before I leave, I wanted to tell you about an offer that I’m woefully behind in sharing.  At the beginning of every year, many Wendy’s restaurants offer a $1 key chain tag that you can use all year to get a free Jr. Frosty with any food purchase.  I’ve been buying them for a couple of years now, and I just realized that I’d never shared it with you.  They’re not available at every Wendy’s, but I strongly suggest you get one if you can.  The Jr. size is small, but I find that it’s the perfect size to accommodate a value size fry order.  🙂   I don’t know how much longer they’ll be selling them, so make sure you get one before it’s too late.

What’s one of your favorite food indulgences?

 

Leave a Reply

