Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Healthy Snacking January 6, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 8:59 PM
Tags: ,

Last week, I talked a little bit about eating healthy, and I wanted to continue that theme today.  I don’t know about you, but one of my biggest downfalls with healthy eating is snacking.  I can plan, make, eat, and enjoy healthy meals; but then I’ll sabotage myself by snacking on not-so-healthy food, usually because it’s easier and faster.  Lately I’ve really been trying to set myself up for success by stocking easy, healthy snacks for me and the hubby and by not keeping tempting, unhealthy snacks around.  Here are some of the healthy foods I try to keep on hand:

– baby carrots (I tried keeping regular carrots, but then I didn’t eat them because they involved prep work.  So, now I just buy the baby ones because I do eat them.)

– hummus  (This hummus recipe is not only the smoothest one ever, it’s also incredibly healthy.  There’s no oil in it, just chickpeas, tahini, water, and flavoring.)

– celery (My hubby eats this plain, but I prefer it with a little bit of peanut butter.)

– apples

peanut butter dip  (So creamy and delicious, especially with apples.)

– oranges

– almonds

– chocolate covered raisins

– pretzels

– yogurt (The hubs eats it plain; I turn it into the dip I mentioned above.)

– granola

And that last idea brings us to today’s recipe.  Granola can be really healthy or really unhealthy.  I try to use recipes that don’t contain a lot of oil or sweetener, so that they lean to the healthy side.  (Just keep in mind that granola’s not cereal; you aren’t meant to eat a bowlful.  I’d stick to 1/2 c. or less.)  This one has only 1/2 c. of oil and 1 c. sweetener for the 7 c. of oats, nuts, seeds, and coconut, so it’s not doing to bad.  Of course granola is one of the easiest things to customize, so feel free to swap in our out according to what you have and like.

Granola (Martha Stewart)

3 c. old-fashioned oats

1 c. hulled, raw pumpkin seeds

1 c. hulled, raw sunflower seeds

1 c. coconut chips (not sweetened)

1 c. chopped raw pecans

3/4 c. grade A maple syrup

1/2 c. extra-virgin olive oil

1/4 c. Truvia baking blend

1/4 c. salt

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl and mix til well combined.  Divide the granola between 2 rimmed baking sheets and spread into even layers.

2. Bake, stirring every 10 minutes, til toasted, about 45 minutes.

GranolaGranola 2

And since nobody wants to be healthy all the time, here’s what caught my eye recently.  The latest issue of Bon Appetit included a recipe for some delicious-looking Oat and Pistachio Sandies.  I might just have to make those some weekend in the not-too-distant future.

So, what’s your go-to healthy snack?

 

Leave a Reply

