Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Fall Flavors November 12, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 5:37 PM
Tags: , ,

The fall weather has finally arrived in Texas (It’s currently 49* here.), and I am really enjoying it.  Conveniently, it arrived in time for us to take advantage of Starbucks’s latest deal.  They are once again offering a buy one, get one free special on their holiday drinks.  Just go to a participating store between 2 and 5 PM from now through Sunday (11/16) and you can buy a holiday drink for yourself and share the extra with a friend.

Eventually, I will tell you about the delicious food my BFF and I cooked up during our relaxing weekend, but today I wanted to share something warm and cozy for you to enjoy in this chilly weather.  The first dish I wanted to share is a super simple slow-cooker meal that will definitely keep you warm.  What I loved about this soup was the balance of flavors: the tomatoes are very tangy which paired really well with the sweetness of the corn, and there was spice from the chiles balanced by the creamy cheese.  We ate this with tortilla chips, but you could really treat it like a chili and serve it over rice, with fritos, or alongside some cornbread.

Nacho Cheese Chicken Chowder (from Better Homes & Gardens)

1 lb. cubed, boneless, skinless chicken breast

2 14 1/2 oz. cans Mexican style stewed tomatoes  (I couldn’t find these, so I used diced tomatoes with chiles.  Also, the original recipe has you include the tomato juices, but that made our soup less of a chowder.  Next time, I’ll drain them.)

1 10 3/4 oz. can condensed nacho cheese soup

1 10 oz. pkg. frozen corn

1. In a slow-cooker, stir together all the ingredients.  Cover and cook on low 4-5 hours or on high 2-2 1/2 hours.  Top with cheese before serving.

Nacho Cheese Chicken ChowderNacho Cheese Chicken Chowder 2  (See how it’s a bit watery?)

Now, I mentioned something about cornbread earlier.  Don’t you feel like cornbread is an amazing fall food?  I certainly love it!  Recently, I tried one of those DIY cornbread mixes.  I love the idea of making up my own mix to keep on hand, but I wasn’t sure how it would compare to the branded product.  I decided that I would just have to do a side by side comparison and share the results with you.  Firstly, this mix is a cinch to whip up.  I only made half the recipe, but that’s equal to several boxes of Jiffy cornbread mix (about 4).  Also, though there are some differences in the look of the finished muffins, they taste exactly the same.  I really love homemade cornbread, but I always ended up keeping the boxes on hand to use in recipes.  Now, whenever a recipe calls for a box of cornbread mix, I can just use 1 c. of this mixture.  AND I can easily halve a recipe that calls for 1 box, but I’m not left with a weird amount of mix to deal with.  Yay!!

DIY Cornbread Mix (from the Unsophisticook blog)

4 c. flour

3 c. yellow cornmeal

1 1/4 c. sugar  (Yes, I’m from the South, and, yes, I eat cornbread with sugar in it.)

6 tbsp. baking powder

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1. Whisk together all the ingredients.

 

DIY Cornbread Mix Cornbread

1 c. cornbread mix

2 tbsp. veggie oil

1 egg

1/3 c. milk

1. Whisk together all the ingredients.

2. Pour the mix into 6 greased muffin cups.  Bake at 400 degrees for 15-17 minutes.

DIY Cornbread Mix 2  Firstly, that mess was intentional so I could tell which muffins were which.  The ones on the left are the DIY, and those on the right are Jiffy.  So there’s an obvious difference in the rise, but they taste the same.

DIY Cornbread Mix 3  See, they’re the same!

The plan is to have a MUCH less busy weekend, which means maybe next week I can share those recipes I keep promising you.  Here’s hoping!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

