Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Short and Super Sweet November 4, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 9:55 PM
Tags:

After a fun and relaxing weekend (hanging out with my bestie while our hubbies and her son were at Man Camp), I’ve been spending time catching up and getting ready for a busy weekend.  Still, I didn’t want to leave you with nothing.  I made this a couple months ago for my sister’s birthday, but there was more than would fit in her package, which meant that we got to enjoy a little bit of it too.  I had seen a picture of this on Pinterest, and it immediately made me think of my sis.  She was one of those kids (and college students) who liked to pick all the marshmallows out of her Lucky Charms and toss the cereal.  So obviously something entitled Lucky Rainbow Chex Mix was meant for her.  This is a really easy and tasty party mix, but be careful!!  It is incredibly sweet.  Aside from its obvious teeth-rotting capabilities, I see no reason why you shouldn’t make this delectable treat to keep that Halloween candy high going.  😉  Or you could save it as a special treat for the Lucky Charms fiend in your life.

Lucky Rainbow Chex Mix (from Tablespoon.com)

1 11.5 oz. box Lucky Charms

6 c. rice or corn chex

2 12 oz. bags white vanilla baking chips (I used a 24 oz. package of vanilla almond bark.  It’s made specifically for melting and is actually a bit cheaper than baking chips.)

1/4 c. sprinkles

1. Pour the Lucky Charms out on a large tray and pick out all the marshmallow (about 2 c.); set them aside.  Put 2 c. of the Lucky Charms cereal in a large bowl and add the chex cereal.

2. Line a large baking sheet with foil or wax paper.  In a medium bowl, microwave the baking chips on high for 2 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds or til smooth.  (I just went by the package directions for my almond bark.)  Once it’s melted, pour over the cereal and toss to coat.

3. Spread the cereal mix in a single layer on the cookie sheet and immediately pour on the sprinkles.  Let set 20 minutes then gently break in pieces and toss with the marshmallows.  (Personally, I like the marshmallows best when they’ve gotten a little wet in my cereal milk, so next time I’ll toss in the marshmallows sooner.  That would also help them stick with the mix better.)

Lucky Rainbow Chex MixLucky Rainbow Chex Mix 2

Thanks for being understanding about the abbreviated post.  By the way, the bestie and I cooked up some amazing food this weekend.  Come back soon to see what it was.

 

One Response to “Short and Super Sweet”

  1. […] last year, my best friend and I cooked up an amazing meal which I promised to blog about.  But somehow I never got around to it, and it seems like in the blink of an eye […]


Leave a Reply

