Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Festive Fall Foods October 28, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 5:40 PM
Tags: ,

Whether or not you celebrate Halloween, this is a great time of year to enjoy some fall foods.  Even though it’s unseasonably warm here (I would enjoy 70 degree weather coming anytime now!), I’m still enjoying these delicious fall treats.    This first fall recipe is one I mentioned earlier this month as something I couldn’t (and didn’t) wait to try.  As you probably noticed, I’m a big fan of slow cooker meals.  It’s so nice to be able to come home after church or a long day at work and know that your dinner is ready and that the most you have to do is cook a quick pot of rice.  I also just love walking in the door and smelling all that slow-cooked goodness.

This curry has so much going for it.  It’s packed with veggies and tasty spices.  It’s simple to throw together.  It makes enough for 6-8 servings (depending on how hungry your family is).  And it smells and tastes amazing!  There is only one change that I would make.  The pumpkin puree makes the sauce very thick and creamy, but the sauce didn’t soak into my rice as much as I like.  When I make this again, I’m going to add just a bit more chicken broth to thin it out.  Again, this is just my personal preference, but I really like to pour extra curry sauce on my rice so that every bite has that delicious flavor.

Slow Cooker Pumpkin Coconut Curry (from Table for Two)

1 15 oz. can coconut milk (not light)

2 c. pumpkin puree (1 can is about 1 3/4 c., and I just left it at that.)

1 c. chicken stock

1 1/2 tsp. curry powder

1/4 tsp. turmeric

2 tsp. garam masala

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. black pepper

1/2 diced onion

1 clove minced garlic

3 carrots in 1 in. pieces

3 c. sweet potatoes in 1 in. pieces (I peeled mine.)

2 chicken breast in 1 in. pieces

Juice of 1 lime

1. In a large slow cooker (4 quarts or more), whisk together the coconut milk, pumpkin, stock, and spices.  Then stir in the remaining ingredients.

2. Cook on low for 6 hours and serve over rice.

Slow Cooker Pumpkin Coconut CurrySlow Cooker Pumpkin Coconut Curry 2

And of course a fall feast wouldn’t be complete without an amazing dessert, and this one is just incredible.  I made this recently for a little get together with my hubby’s brothers and their wives, and I must say that it was a hit.  The recipe makes a 9×13 pan, but I could probably have eaten twice that much.  It tastes like 2 incredible oatmeal cookies with a delicious caramel, apple, and pecan filling.  This was easy to pull together and held up really well for several days.  (Yes, I managed to make it last almost a week.  Which really was quite a feat!)  If you have a fall party coming up, I highly recommend this for an easy and delicious dessert.

Caramel Apple-Nut Bars (from Betty Crocker)

2 c. all-purpose flour

2 c. quick-cooking oats

1 1/2 c. brown sugar

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/4 c. softened butter

1/2 c. caramel sauce (I made my own with this recipe [a half batch], which meant I had a little left over to drizzle on top.  Yummy!)

3 tbsp. all-purpose flour

1 peeled, cored, chopped medium apple

1/2 c. chopped pecans

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease the bottom and sides of a 9×13 in. pan.  In a large bowl, beat together the flour (2 c.), oats, brown sugar, baking soda, salt, and butter til crumbly.  Press about 3 c. of the mix into the bottom of the pan and bake for 10 minutes.

2. In a small bowl, mix together the caramel and 3 tbsp. flour.  Sprinkle the apple and pecans over the partially baked crust.  Then drizzle the caramel mix over them and top it all with the remaining crust mix.

3. Bake for 20-25 minutes or til golden brown.  Cool completely.

Caramel Apple-Nut BarsCaramel Apple-Nut Bars 2

Does it get any better than that?  Whatever you’re doing (or not doing) this weekend, I hope you stay safe and have a good time.

 

2 Responses to “Festive Fall Foods”

  1. Hello!

    My name is Emilie and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us!

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 4000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the traffic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!

    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me on support@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards,
    Emilie
    mytaste.com


Leave a Reply

