Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Classic Comedy With a Groove-y Twist October 23, 2014

Let’s preface today’s groove with a couple of interesting things to watch out for.  The first thing is a Halloween treat.  If you go to a participating Krispy Kreme in costume on Halloween, you’ll get a free donut.  As awesome as that is, just wait.  Next month when Starbucks brings out their winter drinks (Peppermint Mocha, Gingerbread Latte, etc.), they are also releasing a new drink.  The new drink, which I’m very excited about, is a Chestnut Praline Latte.  Doesn’t that sound delicious?  I can hardly wait to try it.

Now, you may be wondering what this comedy-groove business is about; well, I thought it was about time we had another installment of the movie & recipe series.  This month’s choice was the classically funny movie: The Emperor’s New Groove.  If you’d asked me about this movie a few years ago, I would have said it was a dumb kid’s movie.  But then I caught parts of it when my dad and hubby were watching it, and I was surprised to find it much funnier than I remembered.  Now, I think it’s a hilarious Disney movie that should be given another chance.  And so I’m sharing it with you in hopes of reviving its popularity.

In case you haven’t seen it previously, check out this trailer.  The basic gist is that the spoiled emperor Kuzco (hilariously voiced by David Spade) is turned into a llama by his wicked advisor, Yzma, with the help of her strong-not-smart henchman, Kronk.  In a twisted turn of events, Kuzco ends up having to rely on a village leader, Pacha (voiced by John Goodman), who was mistreated by the emperor, but still thinks he can teach him to be nice.  Honestly, the whole script is hilarious, but I’ll still tempt you with a “few” of the hilarious lines that will make you laugh as you watch:

“I’m sorry, but you’ve thrown off the emperor’s groove.” *Guard tosses old man out window*

“Boom, Baby!”

“Beware the groove.”

“No touchy.”

“Pull the lever, Kronk.  Wrong Lever!!  Why do we even have that lever?”

Pacha’s wife getting all upset then *snarl* “I gotta go wash something.”

“Don’t tell me.  We’re about to go over a huge waterfall.”  “Yep.”  “Sharp rocks at the bottom?” “Most likely.” “Bring it on.”

“Ooh, look at me and my bad self.”

“Is that my voice?  Is that MY voice?”

As you can see, I couldn’t choose just a couple; I also really like pretty much any scene with Kronk.  He just cracks me up.

As you might guess, there were slim pickings for food scenes in the movie.  (I was fairly certain that no one wanted roasted pill bug. :P)  However, there was a scene near the beginning where Kronk was making spinach puffs.  That seemed like something I could definitely bring to y’all with no problems.  And here they are!!  Now, these didn’t turn out quite like I wanted because I had to use crescent rolls instead of puff pastry.  My best friend and I walked down each frozen aisle at least twice, but we could not find puff pastry anywhere (or phyllo dough, for that matter).  I think these might have been a little thinner if I’d had the right pastry, but they were still full of delicious flavor.

Spinach-Pesto Spirals (unknown origins – let me know if you recognize it)

1/2 of a 17.3 oz. package of thawed puff pastry

1 tbsp. pesto

3/4 c. mozzarella

1 10 oz. pkg. thawed, chopped, squeezed dry spinach

1 tbsp. grated Parmesan

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment.   On a lightly floured surface, unfold the pastry like a book.  Spread the pesto over the pastry, leaving a 1 inch border at the top.  Top the pesto with the mozzarella, spinach, and Parmesan.  Press everything slightly into the pastry.

3. Brush the plain border with a little water.  Starting from the opposite edge roll the pastry up, pressing to seal the border.  Cut the roll into 1/2 in. thick slices, and place them cut-side down on the baking sheet

4. Bake 15 min. or til golden and puffed.

Spinach-Pesto SpiralsSpinach-Pesto Spirals 3

Boom, baby!  😉

 

2 Responses to “Classic Comedy With a Groove-y Twist”

  1. Raye Says:

    Boom, baby indeed. I LOVE that movie. So funny. The diner scene is probably my fave.


Leave a Reply

