Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Zucchini Love October 7, 2014

I think I might have mentioned it before, but I really love zucchini.  I know it’s fall and everybody’s bombarding you with pumpkin recipes, but here in Texas, we still have plenty of zucchini to eat for a pretty good price.  I made this first recipe last week thinking that I would be able to get pictures to update the blog with.  Then I spent several minutes trying to find it on the blog, but I couldn’t.  Apparently, I either haven’t made it in the past 3 years or I’ve made it and assumed that I already posted about it.  Regardless of which reason it is, I’ve made it now and photographed it for you.  The recipe is for a turkey burger that’s chock full of grated zucchini and carrots.  I know that sounds a little weird, but it actually makes for a flavorful and moist burger.  You might imagine (and rightly so) that the hubby was pretty skeptical about these, but after trying them, he agreed that they are delicious.  Serve these up with some homemade sweet potatoes fries, and you’ve got yourselves a quick, healthy, and delicious dinner.

Turkey Burgers w/Grated Zucchini & Carrot (from the May 2007 issue of Real Simple)

3/4 lb. ground turkey

1 medium grated zucchini

1 medium grated carrot

2 finely chopped garlic cloves

3/4 tsp. dried thyme

3/4 tsp. kosher salt

1/4 tsp. black pepper

1 egg

3 tbsp. olive oil

4 slices crusty bread

4 small leaves of Boston lettuce (I didn’t have any this time, but it is tasty that way.)

4 tbsp. mayo

2 tsp. lemon juice

1. Heat the broiler.  In a large bowl, combine the turkey, zucchini, carrot, garlic, thyme, salt, pepper, and egg.  Form the mix into 4 patties.

2. In a large skillet, heat 1 tbsp. of oil over medium heat.  Cook the patties in the oil, turning once, til they’re no longer pink, 4-5 minutes per side.

3. Place the bread on a baking sheet and brush it with 2 tbsp. oil.  Broil til golden brown and crisp, about 1 1/2 minutes.

4. Transfer the bread to individual plates.  In a small bowl, combine the mayo and lemon juice.  Top the bread with the mayo, lettuce, and burgers.

Turkey Burger with Grated Zucchini and CarrotTurkey Burger with Grated Zucchini and Carrot 2 (Our bread was a bit small this time, so I made longer, skinnier patties and cut them in half.)

The other recipe I wanted to share is for a quasi-healthy zucchini bread.  I saw this bread in a recent issue of Bon Appetit, and it was so scrumptious looking that I knew I’d need to make it soon.  It took me about a month to get to it, but I was really happy with the result.  A lot of zucchini breads are squatty and overly moist.  This one baked up nicely, made 2 loaves (so I got to give one to friends), and had a really nice texture and flavor.  I loved the crunchy topping (Though the called for amount made too much; I’d halve it next time.), and the bread wasn’t too sweet.  If you’ve ended the summer with a crisper drawer full of zucchini, this may be a great way to use it up.

Zucchini Bread with Oats (from the August 2014 issue of Bon Appetit)

1 c. walnuts

3 eggs

1 c. veggie oil

1 1/4 c. sugar

1/2 c. brown sugar

1 tbsp. vanilla

3 c. all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

3 1/2 c. coarsely grated zucchini (about 1 lb.)

1 1/4 c. old-fashioned, rolled oats

3 tbsp. raw sugar

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and parchment line two 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 loaf pans.  Spread the walnuts on a jelly roll pan and toast til they’re slightly darkened and fragrant, 8-10 minutes.  Let them cool, then chop them.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, oil, sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla til smooth.  In another bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and nutmeg.  Make a well in the dry ingredients, add in the wet ingredients, and slowly incorporate the dry into the wet with a fork (the batter will look dry).  Fold in the zucchini, walnuts, and 1 c. oats.  Divide the batter into the pans.

3. In a small bowl, mix together the raw sugar and 1/4 c. oats.  Sprinkle this mix on top of both loaves.  Bake til a tester inserted in the center removes cleanly, 70-80 minutes.  (I covered mine with foil after 45 minutes to keep it from getting too brown.  Because of some comments on the recipe, I checked mine for doneness at 60 minutes.  Like many others, my bread was done early, so I took it out.)  Cool the bread in the pans on a wire rack for 30 minutes; then remove from the pans and cool completely on the racks.

Zucchini Bread with OatsZucchini Bread with Oats 2

Just because I’m eating zucchini, doesn’t mean I’m ignoring all the lovely fall foods being offered up by other bloggers.  Here are some beauties that caught my eye.

– These no bake peanut butter bites from Rachel Cooks look like a great snack that would be quick and easy to make.

– Stephanie at Macaroni & Cheesecake recently posted an apple fritter cake that has me drooling.  I love a good apple fritter, but I’ve never made one because of all the work involved with a yeasted dough and deep-frying.  Now, I can make this cake and (hopefully) have the same great taste with WAY less work.  You will definitely know when I make this; I’ll probably be shouting it from the rooftops.  (No, I’m not crazy; that’s just the power of good pastry.)

– She’s also got a cinnamon roll bread which I love for all the same reasons: getting a favorite flavor with less effort.

– Last, but certainly not least is an incredible dish that Table for Two just posted yesterday.  Slow-Cooker Pumpkin Coconut Curry.  If you know me at all, I think that says it all.

You know my feelings on zucchini now, what are yours?  If you like it, what’s your favorite recipe to use it in?

 

3 Responses to “Zucchini Love”

  1. Raye Says:

    zoodles!!!! We’ve been slicing zucchini really thin and eating it with a variety of pasta toppings for grain free meal. yummm. Love the turkey burger recipe, will have to try it soon. We’re almost done with zucchini up here, it’s on to winter squash for us. 🙂

  2. […] still enjoying these delicious fall treats.    This first fall recipe is one I mentioned earlier this month as something I couldn’t (and didn’t) wait to try.  As you probably noticed, I’m […]


Leave a Reply

