Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Curry in a Hurry September 30, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 9:42 PM
Tags: , ,

Well, fall has started, and unfortunately so has flu season.  I’ve not felt up to par the past couple of days, so I’m going to keep today’s post short so I can maximize my rest/recuperation.  Before I give you today’s recipe, I wanted to share the good news.  Orange Leaf (my favorite froyo place) has released a new flavor: cinnamon roll.  I adore a good cinnamon roll, so I can’t wait to try this flavor.  (Hmm, maybe I need something cold and smooth for my sore throat.  Honey?)

Though this isn’t necessarily a food that I crave when I’m sick, it would be good to make because it doesn’t take almost any time at all.  This means you can have dinner on the table without too much work, which is handy when you don’t really feel like cooking but have to anyway.  Originally, this only called for onions and peppers, but we made it with some zucchini, and it was incredible.  I also love it because it just smells SOOO good; something about curry powder and coconut milk together is irresistible.  Sadly, I’m not sure where I got this recipe.  Please let me know if you recognize it, because I’d love to be able to properly credit it.

Coconut Curry Chicken (I)

3 tsp. veggie oil

12 oz. cubed boneless, skinless chicken breast

1 thinly sliced onion

1 thinly sliced red bell pepper (I felt this was too much, so I would just use half of one next time.)

1 1/2 tsp. minced jalapeno

2 tsp. grated ginger

2 cloves crushed garlic  (I’m fairly certain I minced mine.)

1/2 tsp. curry powder

3/4 c. light coconut milk

2 tbsp. chopped cilantro

1. In a 10 in. skillet, heat 2 tsp. oil on medium-high heat.  Sprinkle the chicken with 1/4 tsp. salt; add it to the skillet and cook 3-4 minutes or til golden, stirring occasionally.  Transfer to a plate.

2. To the same skillet, add the last 1 tsp. of oil and turn the heat down to medium.  Add the onion to the pan and cook 3 min. or til softened, stirring occasionally.  Stir in the bell pepper, jalapeno, ginger, and garlic and cook 1 minute or til fragrant, stirring occasionally.  Stir in the curry powder and cook 1 minute longer.  Stir in the coconut milk and scrape up the browned bits from the bottom of the pan.

3. Return the chicken to the skillet and cook 3-5 minutes or til the chicken’s just cooked through.  Remove the skillet from the heat and top with the cilantro and 1/4 tsp. salt.

Coconut Curry Chicken ICoconut Curry Chicken I 3

And just so you know I’ve been thinking of you, I wanted to share a recipe from the September issue of Cooking Light that really caught my eye.  It may not surprise you to know that it’s another broccoli salad.  I know what you’re thinking (What’s with this girl and broccoli salad?), but I promise you that this one’s different.  It’s got bacon, apples, and a creamy dressing!  Doesn’t that sound delicious?  Until next week, stay healthy.

 

2 Responses to “Curry in a Hurry”

  1. Raye Says:

    So sorry you’re feeling yuck. Hope you’re back to 100% soon!


Leave a Reply

