Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Bananas For You! September 9, 2014

I know everybody’s going crazy for fall right now, but since our temps are still in the 90’s I’m trying to hold off my fall obsession for a couple more weeks at least.  That means that I’m studiously avoiding things like apples and pumpkins.  On the other hand, the stone fruits are slowly falling out of season.  What does that leave me to bake with?  Well, one fruit that doesn’t seem to be tied to a particular season is bananas, so that’s what I’m sharing with you today.  I buy bananas several times a month because they’re a great snack for my hubby.  (If you know me, you know I’m not a huge fan of bananas.)  But he never seems to finish the whole bunch, and I’m left with 1 or 2 bananas to find something to do with.  Honestly, 2 is not so bad, but what do you with just 1 banana?  Well, that’s what these recipes are here to help you with.

This first one is a recipe that I’ve had my eye on for a while, but I waited to make it with my mom when we were on vacation.  After I posted my interest in it, she said that we should try making a g-free version together; so we did.  We made a half batch each of regular and gluten/egg free and baked them side by side.  (We just swapped gluten-free all-purpose baking mix for the flour and used vinegar to replace the egg.)  Although the g-free version didn’t bake up as tall and fluffy, they both shared the same great banana bread taste.  And I can’t encourage you enough to make these and top them with the amazing nutella glaze (which MADE the donuts).  These are a really great way to start off your morning.  I haven’t tried it yet, but I think you could easily make these into muffins if you didn’t have a donut pan.  (You’d just have to adjust the baking time and possibly the temperature to make sure they cook through without overbrowning.)

Baked Banana Donuts with Nutella Glaze (from I Am A Food Blog)

1 c. flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 c. + 2 tbsp. sugar

1 egg

1/2 c. mashed banana (about 1)

1/4 c. + 2 tbsp. buttermilk

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 c. Nutella

2 tbsp. + 2 tsp. heavy cream

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees; lightly grease a 6 count donut pan.  In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.  In a small bowl, whisk together the sugar, egg, banana, buttermilk, and vanilla.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry mix and stir til just combined.

2. Fill each well 3/4 full.  Bake 11-12 minutes or til golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out dry.  Cool 5 minutes in the pan, then remove to a wire rack.

3. In a small bowl, stir the cream into the nutella.  If it’s too thick, you can add more cream 1 tsp. at a time.  After the donuts have cooled for 20 minutes, dip them into the glaze.

Baked Banana Doughnuts with Nutella Glaze 2Baked Banana Doughnuts with Nutella Glaze 3Baked Banana Doughnuts with Nutella Glaze 5

Now, if it’s possible, this next recipe is even better.  These cookies are a mash-up of banana nut bread and oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  I don’t actually like chocolate chip banana bread and was a bit skeptical, but these cookies are incredible.  Using common household ingredients and 1 overripe banana, you get 2 dozen cookies that can satisfy a craving for sweets without overloading you on sugar.  While I love the donut recipe, I’m not always in the mood for baked donuts for breakfast.  But my hubby is always in the mood for cookies.  We will definitely be making these frequently with our leftover bananas.  😀

Banana-Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies (from Cooking Classy)

1 1/4 c. all-purpose flour

3/4 c. + 2 tbsp. quick cook oats

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 + 1/8 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 c. mashed banana (about 1)

1/2 tsp. lemon juice

1/4 c. softened butter

1/2 c. brown sugar

1/4 c. sugar

1 egg

1/4 tsp. vanilla

3/4 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 c. chopped pecans or walnuts

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  In a bowl, whisk together the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon; set aside.

2. In a shallow bowl, mash the banana with the lemon juice.  In a large bowl, beat together the banana mixture, butter, and sugars til smooth.  Beat in the egg and vanilla.  On low, add in the dry ingredients and mix til combined.  Fold in the nuts and chocolate chips.

3. Drop the dough by tablespoonfuls onto a parchment or silicone lined baking sheet spacing them 2 inches apart.  Bake them 11-12 minutes (they’ll still be a bit soft).  Cool the cookies several minutes on the pans, then finish cooling them on a wire rack.

Banana-Oat Chocolate Chip CookiesBanana-Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies 2

And that’s how we get rid of leftover bananas at my house.  What’s your go-to way to use them up?

 

One Response to “Bananas For You!”

  1. […] them mostly to use up 2 very ripe bananas, but they tasted way better than I expected.  Unlike the banana-oat chocolate chip cookies I posted last year, these don’t taste that much like banana.  They don’t taste exactly […]


Leave a Reply

