Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Despicable Cookies August 19, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 9:26 PM
Tags: ,

Well, I didn’t mean to miss last week’s post; it just sort of happened.  We were having an extremely busy week, but I still meant to post.  I guess the time just got away from me.  There’s tons going on this week too, so I’m going to keep this post on the short and sweet side.  Rest assured, I’m still cooking up plenty of treats, and I don’t think you’ll be sorry for waiting.  🙂

This short post is going to be a continuation of our movie/recipe series.  This time it was one of my absolute favorite kid’s movies: Despicable Me.  This movie is about an evil villain, Gru, who adopts 3 orphan girls to help further his plan of stealing the moon.  Through his association with them, he starts to realize that there’s more to life than stealing and that he might not be the villain after all.  (It’s sounds dry when I say it, but if you watch the trailer, you’ll see how funny it is.)

There’s just so much to love about this movie.  Agnes is my favorite character (It’s so fluffy!!), but I also love pretty much any scene the minions are in.  (If you just watched the trailer for the first time, the minions are the yellow characters.)  I also really enjoy Gru’s mom (voiced by the fab Julie Andrews).  Here are a few of my very favorite lines from the movie: “Light bulb”, “You have a face ‘como un burro’.”, “Why are you so old?”, “Whaaa?”, “He’s so fluffy I’m gonna die!”, “Knocked over!”, “It’s so fluffy!!”, “The physical appearance of the ‘please’ makes no difference.”, “Sorry, that book was accidentally destroyed maliciously.”  Hilarious, right?  (And if you don’t believe me, watch the movie.)

The movie does have a few food scenes, but what I latched on to was the cookies the girls were selling.  Instead of making a homemade girl scout cookie, I decided to just make an awesome cookie.  I had a few contenders, but these s’mores cookies won the day.  They’re not the cheapest cookie to make, but they are certainly delicious.  They made nearly 3 dozen cookies, so I gave about half of them away.  The folks I shared with said they were amazing, and I would have to agree.  The ones I kept at our house certainly didn’t last long; hubby and I were constantly sneaking bites of them.  These are also a great summery treat; what goes better with grilling, then s’mores?  These cookies are so sweet and delicious, though next time I’ll add even more marshmallows for extra s’more flavor.

S’mores Cookies (from The Girl Who Ate Everything)

11 tbsp. softened butter

1 c. brown sugar

1/2 c. sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

2 1/2 c. flour

1/2 c. chocolate chips

1 c. mini marshmallows (I’d do 2 c. next time.)

3 Hershey’s bars in pieces

1-2 sleeves graham crackers in squares

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and flour; set aside.  In a large bowl, beat together the butter and sugars til light and fluffy.  Add the eggs and vanilla and beat til combined.  Add the dry mix to the creamed mix and beat on low til combined.  Fold in the chocolate chips and marshmallows.  Chill the dough at least 1 hour.

2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line 2 baking sheets with parchment.  (She recommends a 9×13 and an 11×17, and that was perfect for me.)  Lay the graham crackers out on the pans as closely as possible.  Place the dough by tablespoonfuls onto the graham squares.  Flatten the dough slightly.  (I like to make sure that some marshmallows are near the top on each square so that they can get toasted.)

3. Bake 5 minutes then remove from the oven.  Press a piece of the Hershey’s bars on top of each square.  Put back in the oven and bake 5-7 minutes more or til the edges are golden brown.  Cool on a wire rack.

S'mores CookiesS'mores Cookies 2

 

Leave a Reply

