Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Of Two Minds August 5, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 10:25 PM
Tags: ,

So, I’ve been struggling lately.  Ever since last week, the “I want Fall” switch in my brain has been turned on and working overtime.  (What?  You know you have one too!)  I guess it’s because I had looked at several November blog posts, and it just got me wanting the cool weather with all its attendant joys.  I’ve been craving chili and cornbread, warm spices, crisp air, and golden leaves.  At the same time, the logic part of my brain is telling me that I have a couple more months of summer to go, and I should make the most of it while it’s here.  And I want to!  I just can’t seem to quiet that other part of my brain.

So, what do you do when it’s 100 degrees outside and your brain wants fall?  Bribe it with ice cream, of course!  You must know by now that I adore ice cream, so this shouldn’t come as a surprise.  My hubby also knows, so he recently brought a couple of Bluebell pints home as a treat.  For me, he brought home coconut fudge, which I adored.  For himself, he got pecan pralines ‘n’ cream, which I’d never tried.  Naturally, he gave me a couple bites.  Oh.  My.  Cow!!!!  It was so incredible!  If you like pralines (candy made from brown sugar and pecans), then you HAVE to try this.  No really, I insist.

I also tried (yet) another chocolate and peanut butter ice cream recipe.  This one is good, but I think I need to work with it more before it’s great.  The ice cream itself is tasty and easy to make.  The peanut butter swirl is also very easy and has a different taste because of the coconut oil used in it.  My problem with the ice cream and its swirl, is that they froze really hard in my freezer.  I had to set them out at room temp for 10 minutes or so just to be able to scoop them out.  I would guess that’s due to using low-fat (1%) milk in the ice cream base.  I’ll probably try it with half and half next time to see if that makes a difference.  Still, it’s an easy ice cream to throw together with items that you probably already have on hand, and it did taste very good.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Ice Cream (from Yammie’s Noshery)

For the ice cream:

1/2 c. cocoa

1 c. peanut butter

1/2 c. brown sugar

3 c. milk

1 tbsp. vanilla

For the swirl:

1/4 c. peanut butter

1/4 c. coconut oil

2 tbsp. brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1. In a microwave-safe bowl, combine the cocoa, 1 c. peanut butter, 1/2 c. brown sugar, and 1/4 c. milk.  Microwave, stirring occasionally, til the peanut butter is melted.  (I put mine on for 30 seconds at a time, then stirred after each one.  I think it took at most 2 minutes.)

2. Slowly whisk in the remaining 2 3/4 c. milk til the mix is completely combined and smooth.  Add in the vanilla.  If the mix is too warm (over 40 degrees), chill it til completely cool.

3. Once chilled, churn the ice cream according your ice cream maker’s instructions.

4. In another microwave-safe bowl, combine 1/4 c. peanut butter, coconut oil, 2 tbsp. brown sugar, and 1 tsp. vanilla.  Microwave til melted and smooth.  (I used the same method, and this took less than a minute.)

5. When the ice cream’s done churning, place it in a wide container and pour on a thin layer of the peanut butter swirl on top.  Let the swirl freeze (it should be fast because of the coconut oil), then fold it in.  Repeat til the swirl is used up, then freeze for 3 hours or til firm.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Ice CreamChocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Ice Cream 3

What about you?  Are you getting in a fall frame of mind or are you still enjoying summer?

 

Leave a Reply

