Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Summer Flavors July 23, 2014

Are you ready to indulge in some incredibly delicious dishes that highlight some of the flavors of summer?  I’ve already indulged in the two recipes I’m sharing, but they’re so good I’d gladly eat them again.   First though, I’ve got to share a nice deal for you to take advantage of.  Starbucks is once again offering their treat receipt program.  If you buy something in the morning, you can bring your receipt in after 2 PM and receive an iced grande drink for just $2.  If you know you’re going to have a long day, this might make it just a little brighter.

This first recipe is one I could have sworn I’d already shared with you.  I actually searched the archive twice to make sure I hadn’t missed it somehow.  I made this for the first time several years ago with one of my best friends.  That summer, she’d planted a garden that was producing plenty of basil and zucchini.  We made this delectable looking dish to use up some of that bounty.  For those of you who might be wondering, a galette (in this sense) is just a freeform pie.  The crust for this one is a little easier to work with than regular pie dough because it’s made with sour cream as well as butter.  Then you top the galette with a cheese mixture, and finish with some garlic-basted zucchini.  None of the flavors are very bold; they just all harmonize into a tasty treat.

Zucchini and Ricotta Galette (from Smitten Kitchen)

1 1/4 c. chilled all-purpose flour (When you make pie crust, it’s best for all ingredients to be very cold.)

1/4 tsp. salt

8 tbsp. cubed butter

1/4 c. sour cream

2 tsp. lemon juice

1/4 c. ice water

1 large (or 2 small) zucchini sliced in 1/4 in. thick rounds

1 tbsp. + 1 tsp. olive oil

1 clove minced garlic

1/2 c. ricotta

1/2 c. grated Parmesan

1/4 c. shredded mozzarella

1 tbsp. slivered basil leaves

1 egg yolk

1 tsp. water

1. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour and salt.  Sprinkle the butter over the flour, then cut in (with a pastry mixer or 2 forks) the butter, til the mix resembles coarse meal with the biggest pieces the size of peas.  In a small bowl, whisk together the sour cream, lemon juice, and ice water; add this mixture to the butter mix.  Mix together til large lumps form.  Pat the lumps into ball, but do not overwork it.  Cover it with plastic wrap and refrigerate it for 1 hour.

2. Spread the cut zucchini over several layers of paper towels.  Sprinkle the zucchini with 1/2 tsp. salt, then let it drain for 30 minutes.  Gently blot the tops dry with paper towels.  In a small bowl, whisk together the olive oil and garlic; set aside.  In a separate bowl, mix together the 3 cheeses with 1 tsp. of the garlic oil; season to taste with salt and pepper.

3. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  On a floured surface, roll the dough into a 12 inch round.  Transfer the dough to an ungreased baking sheet.  Spread the ricotta mix evenly on the dough, leaving a 2 inch border.  Shingle the zucchini on top of the ricotta, then drizzle it with the remaining garlic oil.  Fold the border of dough over the filling, pleating to make it fit.  In a small bowl, beat the egg yolk and 1 tsp. water; brush over the crust.

4. Bake til the cheese is puffed, the zucchini is slightly wilted and the galette is golden brown, 30-40 minutes.  Remove from the oven, sprinkle with the basil, and let stand 5 minutes before serving.

Zucchini and Ricotta GaletteZucchini and Ricotta Galette 2Zucchini and Ricotta Galette 3

And as good as that is (and it’s really, REALLY good), this next one is even better.  Imagine my surprise when, towards the end of last week, my husband announced that he’s not really a fan of coconut milk.  What?!  I’m obsessed with coconut milk, how can he not like it?  How did I not know this?  What was I going to do about the coconut milk ice cream that I had just bought the ingredients for?

So I did what I thought made the most sense, I made the ice cream and didn’t tell him what was in it until he said that he liked it.  Success!  After I told him it was made from coconut milk, he said that he could taste it, but that it worked in the ice cream.  Personally, I think he’s actually just ambivalent about coconut milk, but that he didn’t like the last couple of dishes that I had used it in.  (I didn’t really like those last few dishes either, which is why they haven’t been posted on the blog.)  But this…  This was amazing!  Do you remember the coconut ice milk I blogged about last month?  This ice cream is its alter ego.  Coconut milk is mixed with just a hint of cocoa and sugar, then churned and studded with a wealth of Oreo cookies.  (But you could leave the cookies out and still have an incredible ice cream.)  This recipe only makes a half batch of ice cream which could be good or bad.  Good because I didn’t gorge on it; bad because I’m already craving more.  You must know by now that I adore the flavor combination of chocolate and coconut, and this ice cream brings them together beautifully.  I also love that you can make it with pantry ingredients (minus the Oreos, which I wouldn’t dare keep in my pantry at all times), so it’s ready to be made at any time.  Okay, I think I’ve hyped it enough; let me tell you how to make it.

Chocolate Cookies ‘N’ Cream Ice Cream (from Savory Sweet Life by Alice Currah)

1 14 oz. can coconut milk (She recommends the Chaokoh brand.  I haven’t seen that in my stores, but Goya is a consistently good and available brand for me.)

1/3 c. sugar

2 tbsp. cocoa

10 crushed Oreos

1. In a blender, combine the coconut milk, sugar, and cocoa.  Blend for 20 seconds.  Pour into your ice cream maker and churn according to your manufacturer’s instructions.  In the last 5 minutes of churning, pour in the Oreos.  Freeze until ready to eat.

Chocolate Cookies 'n' Cream Ice CreamChocolate Cookies 'n' Cream Ice Cream 2

On a sad note, you may have noticed the absence lately of recipes that I’ve recently found to drool over.  While I certainly wouldn’t mind being struck hungry by a new recipe, I didn’t want to leave you bereft until that happens.  A lot of people associate summer with going to the movies.  Though I don’t personally enjoy movie theaters (The noise and occasionally the cinematography give me headaches.), I do enjoy watching all the new movie trailers that come out during this time.  I thought I’d end today’s post with previews of several movies that I’m looking forward to seeing when they come out on DVD.

The first movie I’m interested in is called The Boxtrolls.  I love the whimsy and silliness of this movie.

The next movie is called Home and is about a hilarious alien’s adventures on earth.  I especially love how Oh got his name and his dancing!

The last one that I’m most excited about is The Hundred Foot Journey.  It’s about Indian and French food; is it any wonder I’m dying to see it?

What movie are you looking forward to?

 

2 Responses to “Summer Flavors”

  1. Raye Says:

    OOOO!!!! I gotta try that coconut ice cream (sans oreos, though…bummer on that). tell me about freezer life…you think I could leave it in the freezer overnight and still be able to scoop it (ish) the next day? Or better fresh?

    • It does get hard overnight in the freezer, but if you let it stand at room temp for a couple minutes, then you can scoop it no problem. And it was good as long as I had it (which was like 2 days).


Leave a Reply

