Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Chocolate, Chilly, and Chatter June 19, 2014

I have so much to share today that I’ll “barely” be able to share a couple of decadent chocolate recipes and some “chilly” frozen treats.  😉

Let’s start with something non-chilled first.  On July 11, Chick-fil-A is hosting their annual Dress Like a Cow Day.  On that day, you can go in to any participating Chick-fil-A and receive either a free meal (for dressing like a cow head to toe) or a free entree (for wearing some kind of cow accessories or garb).  Chick-fil-A is one of our favorite restaurants, and this would be a fun outing for the whole family.  (Who wouldn’t like to see a bunch of cows at lunch?)

On the chilled front, Krispy Kreme (Y’all know how much I love Krispy Kreme!) has started offering 3 delicious sounding frozen lemonades: regular, strawberry, and mango.  They sound so delicious that I might just have to stop by and try them.  (Of course, I’d have to get some doughnuts while I was there.)

Speaking of frozen, have you ever tried frozen grapes?  I don’t think I had til several years ago, but now I adore them.  I love grapes eaten straight out of hand, but after they’re frozen, they’re even more refreshing.  I highly recommend that you try this while grapes are at a good price.

Okay, I promised you chocolate, and I will deliver.  Again, we’ll start with the non-chilled chocolate first.  Last week, my husband said that he wanted something chocolate-y, so I told him about a mug cake recipe I’d been meaning to try.  He whipped it up, and we were both impressed with it.  The blogger who created it named it “The Moistest Chocolate Mug Cake”, and she meant it.  When I tried it again a few days ago, I had to cook it longer in my microwave to get the middle cooked through,  but the outside never got dried out, burnt, or spongy.  The cake is made from ingredients you probably have on hand already, and it takes less than 5 minutes to make.  It has a good chocolate flavor and would go well with a scoop of ice cream or any number of substitutions for the creamy center.  If you have a chocolate craving but not much time, this will definitely fit the bill.

Chocolate Mug Cake (from Table for Two)

1/4 c. all-purpose flour

2 tbsp. cocoa

1/4 tsp. baking soda

2 tbsp. sugar

1/8 tsp. salt

1/4 c. + 1 tbsp. milk

2 tbsp. veggie oil

1 tbsp. Nutella (Peanut butter or Biscoff would also be good here.)

1. In a large (oversized), microwave-safe mug, whisk together the flour, cocoa, baking powder, sugar, and salt.

2. Whisk in the milk and oil til well combined with no clumps.

3. Add the Nutella to the middle of the cake; you don’t have to worry about pushing it in.

4. Microwave for 70 seconds or til done.  (I do the initial 70 seconds, then 15 second intervals til it’s cooked through.)

Chocolate Mug Cake 2Chocolate Mug Cake 3

You may be saying, “Wait a sec, where did that ice cream come from?”  Well, I did promise you a frozen chocolate treat as well.  I’ve previously talked about this delicious chocolate ice cream with a peanut butter swirl. (Just over a year ago; talk about coincidence.)  This time, I decided to try a chocolate peanut butter ice cream that didn’t require any cream or melted chocolate.  (That one’s delicious, I just didn’t have those ingredients on hand this time.)  The chocolate peanut butter ice cream I tried this time uses just 5 ingredients to deliver a VERY rich, creamy chocolate and peanut butter taste.  (On the downside, it only makes about 1 pint of ice cream.)

Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream (from the Brown Eyed Baker blog)

2 c. half and half

1/4 c. Dutch process cocoa (The special Hershey’s cocoa I use is half special dark cocoa and half Dutch process, so I just used that.)

1/2 c. sugar

1 pinch salt

1/2 c. peanut butter

1. In a large saucepan over medium heat, whisk together the half and half, cocoa, sugar, and salt.  Bring to a full, rolling boil, whisking frequently.  Remove from the heat and whisk in the peanut butter til thoroughly blended.

2. Chill the mix thoroughly, then freeze according to your ice cream maker’s directions.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Have you had enough yet?  I hope not, since I have lots of extra finds to share this week.  Like last week, we’ll start with some new music.

– The other day, I was just chilling out listening to Pandora when this song captured my attention.  (Hooray for free internet radio that brings you new music and plays more than the same 15 songs over and over.)  Though it’s a little melancholy, I really enjoyed its smooth and heartfelt sound.  It’s called “The Pieces Don’t Fit Anymore” and is by James Morrison.

Don’t worry though, I also have some recipes that caught my attention.

– Let’s start with this delicious looking, frozen strawberry treat from Cooking Light.  Let’s just say that I’ve been thinking about this since I saw it last week, and I may or may not be bringing it to a get-together this weekend.  I’ll keep you posted.

– And since we’ve been talking about chocolate peanut butter ice creams, this one from Yammie’s Noshery popped up in my inbox yesterday and has the potential to be my new favorite.  Like the one I just shared, it uses basic ingredients, but it seems even easier, AND it has a peanut butter swirl.  You shouldn’t be surprised if this also makes an appearance in the not too distant future.

– This last treat from Smitten Kitchen was only posted today, but I already want to make it.  It’s a frozen coconut limeade that sounds like a perfect summer treat.  I love the flavor combo of lime and coconut, and this is calling my name.  (Why, oh why, do blenders hate me so much?  Does anyone with a blender that doesn’t hate them want to whip this up for me?  I’d be ever so grateful!)

Can you tell that I’m in the mood for delicious frozen treats?  What about you, what’s your favorite frozen treat when the weather gets hot?

 

Leave a Reply

