Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

We All Scream For… Frozen Dairy Product!!! June 3, 2014

Technically, the recipes I’m sharing tonight aren’t ice cream (though I might call them that for convenience’s sake), they are all still delicious frozen treats that I have been dying to share with you.  The temperatures have been rising here, so we’ve been enjoying having frozen delights around to satiate our dessert cravings.    This first one was a little tangy, but still very tasty.  It has Oreos in it, so obviously the hubby loved it.  (Although we both felt it could use more Oreos.)  It’s kind of like a cheesecake ice cream and was very delicious.

Cookies and Cream Freeze (from Kraft)

4 oz. semi-sweet baking chocolate

14 Oreos

1 8 oz. pkg. softened cream cheese

1/4 c. sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1 8 oz. pkg. thawed Cool Whip

1. Melt the chocolate as directed on the package; set aside.  Line an 8 1/2  4 1/2 inch loaf pan with foil, with the edges hanging over the side of the pan.  Arrange 8 of the Oreos on the bottom of the pan.  Crumble the last 6 Oreos and set them aside.

2. In a medium bowl, beat together the cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla on medium til well blended.  Stir in the Cool Whip.  Remove 1/2 of the cream cheese mix to another bowl and stir in the melted, cooled chocolate.

3. Spread the regular cream cheese mix over the Oreo in the bottom of the pan; sprinkle with the crushed Oreos.  Gently press the cookies into the cream cheese mix, then top with the chocolate cream cheese mix.  Cover and freeze at least 3 hours or til firm.

Cookies and Cream FreezeCookies and Cream Freeze 3

This next frozen delight is my hubby’s new favorite.  This super fast dessert uses just 3 healthy ingredients to create a tasty treat.  I’d seen a lot of these copycat recipes on Pinterest, and when I found myself with a whole pineapple in my crisper, I decided it was time to give one a try.  Though you have to freeze your pineapple ahead of time (read: a little planning ahead needed), once that’s done, the recipe comes together in just a few minutes.  Apparently, this is a copycat of a product sold at Disneyworld that’s called Dole Whip.  I’ve never tasted theirs, so I can’t tell you if it’s comparable, but it’s delicious enough that it doesn’t matter.  If you’re not serving all of it at once, be advised that it does get pretty crystallized when it re-freezes.  I haven’t tried this, but I think you could re-whip it in the food processor or blender.  Let me know what happens if you try it.

Pineapple Whip (from The Detoxinista blog)

1 peeled, cored, chopped pineapple (Though the recipe calls for fresh, you could probably use a large can of drained pineapple chunks with similar results.)

1 c. milk (The recipe calls for non-dairy, but I used regular milk with good results.  I do think that coconut milk would be amazing since it goes so well with pineapple.)

1 tbsp. honey  (Personally, I thought it could use a little more.  That could be due to the sweetness of my pineapple or the fact that I used dairy milk which isn’t as sweet as others.  Just taste the finished product and adjust it to your liking.)

1. Freeze the pineapple chunks overnight.

2. Combine all the ingredients in a food processor or industrial strength blender (a Vitamix, Ninja, or Blendtec).  Blend til a frozen sorbet texture is reached.  (If you’re using the food processor like I did, let the pineapple sit at room temp for 10-15 minutes.  My food processor was able to do it, it just took a little more time than one of those blenders probably would have.)

Pineapple WhipPineapple Whip 3

And I’ve saved the best for last!!!  This coconut ice milk on its own is great, but…

it makes…

THE BEST…

Almond Joy Sundae!!!!!!!!

Coconut Ice Milk Sundae

On its own, this coconut ice milk is tasty.  But when topped with chocolate syrup and sliced almonds, this is an incredible treat that I couldn’t stop eating.  This is made with just coconut milk, half and half, and sugar, so it may not be what you’d expect from a coconut ice cream.  It’s not super sweet (It has more of the actual coconut flavor, which is not as sweet as the coconut flakes most people are used to.), and it’s not as creamy as ice cream.  I’ve mentioned before that I like the icier texture of ice milk, so this is perfect for me.

Coconut Ice Milk (from the Martha Stewart Living Cookbook: The New Classics)

2 c. unsweetened coconut milk (This is a little more than a regular size can.  I just used 1 can; it was still delicious.)

2 c. half and half

1 c. sugar

1. In a large bowl, whisk together all the ingredients.  Churn according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.

Coconut Ice MilkCoconut Ice Milk 2

Now you may have noticed that last week I didn’t share any recipes that had caught my eye.  Apparently I had a dry week (it was also a little busy), but I’ve got some for you this time.

– This salad that I found on Rachel Cooks makes me a little sad, but just because I have to wait til next fall to try it.  It’s a Brussels Sprouts salad with Green Apples, Cranberries, and Pecorino which got me yearning for those cute little cabbages to whip this up with.  You can definitely expect to see this again when the cooler weather comes back.

– These Pina Colada Baked Doughnuts from Today’s Nest caught my attention as a perfect summer treat.  They’re a little bit involved, but I’m sure the flavor is worth every bit of it, and I can’t wait to treat myself with these.  (Though I’ll substitute either coconut or vanilla extract for the rum extract.)

And I wanted to leave you with this recent capture from my photo a day challenge.  The caption was “Joy”, and this is the first thing I thought of.

6-1 Joy 2  Weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.  (!!)

 

One Response to “We All Scream For… Frozen Dairy Product!!!”

  1. […] haven’t been posted on the blog.)  But this…  This was amazing!  Do you remember the coconut ice milk I blogged about last month?  This ice cream is its alter ego.  Coconut milk is mixed with just a […]


Leave a Reply

