Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Something Besides Dessert May 20, 2014

I don’t know why the majority of us in the food blogging community make it seem like we eat nothing but desserts; I guess they’re just more fun to share.  Still, I do eat normal meals, and some of them are even pretty tasty.  😉  Though I’ll never stop loving or sharing desserts, I thought I’d take this post to share some savory, but still delicious, recipes that I’ve recently enjoyed.  But before I start sharing the recipes, you need to know that on May 22 (this Thursday), Sonic is offering 50 cent corn dogs all day long.  Okay, that was it.

I was not kidding last week when I said I wanted to try the broccoli salad recipe from 101 Cookbooks.  I already had a head of broccoli in the crisper, all I had to do was pick up an apple at the grocery store.  (Yes, I bought 1 apple.  Don’t judge.)  Some of you might have been skeptical if you read that the recipe called for some almond butter in the dressing, but I’m here to set those fears to rest.  You really don’t taste it.  Honestly, the strongest flavor in the salad was the lovely bite of garlic which went so well with the broccoli.  I changed things up a little, mostly to make it faster and deal with what I had.  My hubby wasn’t really interested in this (maybe because I served it with enchiladas), but by the end of dinner he was definitely a fan.

Broccoli Crunch (101 Cookbooks)

4-5 c. tiny broccoli florets

1 clove smashed, chopped garlic (I minced mine with a microplane.)

1/2 tsp. fine sea salt

1/4 c. almond butter (I’d love to try it with almond butter, but peanut butter also worked well.)

3 tbsp. lemon juice

1 tsp. honey

2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

2 tbsp. hot water

2 diced crisp apples

1/2 thinly sliced red onions (I’m not a fan of raw onions, so I left these out.)

1/2 c. toasted or candied walnuts or almonds (I toasted some slivered almonds, though I wish I had some candied nuts to try.)

1/3 c. crispy shallots (Unfortunately, I was pressed for time and had to do without.)

1. Bring a medium pot of salted water to boil.  Boil the broccoli for 10-15 seconds, just to take the raw edge off.  Drain and immerse in cold water; set aside.  (Actually, I skipped this whole step.  I prefer raw broccoli, and we both liked it this way.)

2. Sprinkle the salt on the chopped garlic and smash it into a paste.  (If you mince your garlic, you can just sprinkle the salt in with the rest of the dressing ingredients.)  Place the paste in a small bowl and whisk in the almond butter, lemon juice, honey, and oil.  Add the hot water and whisk til light and creamy.

3. In a large bowl, gently toss the broccoli, apples, onion, crispy shallots, and nuts with the dressing.  Top with chives if desired.

Broccoli CrunchBroccoli Crunch 2

 

By the way, I do realize that I shared a similar broccoli salad about a month ago.  I feel that they’re both valid recipes with different flavor profiles.  The waldorf salad is creamy and sweeter.  This one has a big garlic flavor and an overall savory taste.

Now, most people won’t want just broccoli for dinner, so here’s something you could make to go with it.  This easy to throw together casserole makes a ton of food (8-10 people’s worth) and is like eating the filling of a burrito (no tortilla = healthier).  The nice part about this is that you can have the chicken and rice made ahead of time, then just assemble it that night for a quick and semi-healthy dinner.

Southwest Chicken Burrito Bake (from Macaroni & Cheesecake)

2 c. cooked, shredded chicken breasts

2 c. cooked brown rice

3/4 c. corn

1 15 oz. can drained, rinsed black beans

1 c. sour cream

3/4 c. salsa

1 4 oz. green chiles

1 c. shredded cheddar

1/2 chopped onion

1/4 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. pepper

1 pinch cayenne

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl.  Pour into a greased 9×13 pan and spread evenly.  Top with more cheese and bake 20 minutes or til the cheese has melted and is heated through.  Serve with tortilla chips, taco sauce, and sour cream.

Southwest Chicken Burrito BakeSouthwest Chicken Burrito Bake 2

Lastly, I wanted to share another side that’s easy and really tasty.  These cauliflower patties are flavorful, easy to make, and incredibly tasty.  I love recipes like this that change up how I serve vegetables and maybe convince the hubs that they’re not so bad after all.  I did really enjoy these, but next time, I’ll chop the cauliflower up much smaller, so that the patties aren’t so lumpy.  Also, if you (like me) aren’t going to spring for creme fraiche, you could dress up some sour cream or (gasp!) just dip them in ranch.  I won’t tell anyone if you won’t.

Cauliflower Galettes with Chipotle Creme Fraiche (from Cowgirl Chef by Ellise Pierce)

1 head cauliflower in tiny florets

1 c. cornmeal

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cayenne

1/2 tsp. cumin

2 eggs

1 5.29 oz tub Greek yogurt

1 c. water

4 sliced green onions

1 c. shredded cheddar

4 tbsp. veggie oil

16 oz. creme fraiche

2-3 chipotles in adobo

1. Preheat the broiler and line a sheet tray with foil.  Toss the cauliflower with some olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Cook 10 minutes, turn the cauliflower over, and cook 10 more minutes.  Remove and let cool.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the cornmeal, baking powder, salt, cayenne, and cumin.  In a separate, whisk together the eggs, yogurt, and water.  Add the wet mix to the dry and stir together.  (You can add more water if it’s too thick.)  Gently fold in the cauliflower cheddar, and onions.

3. In a large skillet, heat 2 tbsp. oil over medium heat.  Once it’s hot, spoon the batter in 2 tbsp. mounds into the skillet.  Cook 3-4 minutes or til brown; flip and cook a few more minutes.  Repeat with the remaining oil and batter.

4. For the sauce, toss the chipotles into a food processor til finely chopped.  Stir into the creme fraiche and dollop on the galettes.

Cauliflower Galettes with Chipotle Creme FraicheCauliflower Galettes with Chipotle Creme Fraiche 2  (If you look closely, you can see  how misshapen the underside is.)

And now for this week’s inspirations:

– Lemon-Ginger Scones from Flour by Joanne Chang – What made these scones appeal to me so much was the use of three types of ginger (candied, fresh, and ground) to balance the bright acidity of lemon juice in the scone and glaze.

– I also want to try these Baked Banana Donuts from I Am a Food Blog.  Besides the deliciosity of banana bread in donut form topped with nutella and sprinkles, these donuts only use 1 banana.  I love having a recipe to turn to when I have just 1 lonely brown banana to use up.

What’s your go-to savory dish?

 

2 Responses to “Something Besides Dessert”

  1. So glad you enjoyed the burrito bake!

  2. […] first is one a recipe that I’ve had my eye on for a while, but I waited to make it with my mom when we were on vacation.  After I posted my […]


Leave a Reply

