Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

A Hint of Citrus and a New Twist May 6, 2014

First things first, on May 13, Haagen-Dazs is hosting their annual Free Cone Day.  From 4-8 PM, you can go to a participating cone shop to receive a free cone.  There’s not one close enough for me to go, but I’d love to hear your thoughts if you get to go.

The first of today’s recipes has its own unique twist.  Instead of being a lemon poppy seed cake, it’s the reverse: a poppy seed lemon cake.  It has 1/2 cup of poppy seeds and barely any lemon (Certainly not enough for this lemon-lovin’ chica!).  This is definitely not your regular coffee shop cake.  There’s very little flour, an equal amount of cornstarch, 2 sticks of melted butter, and 8 (!) egg yolks.  (Though I’ve wanted to make this for years, part of the reason I got to it now was that I had 12 egg yolks to use up from making a [mediocre and frustrating] angel food cake.)  Though this was a good cake, I craved more sweetness and lemon-y punch.  I went ahead and added a lemon glaze, but next time I’d like to add some lemon juice as well.  I don’t know that I’d want to change any of the recipe’s ratios, so I might try poking holes in the cooked cake and pouring on a lemon syrup.  Whatever I decide, I’ll be sure to update you if anything works.  In the meantime, here’s the recipe for this great, not-too-sweet, not-too-lemony snacking cake.

Poppy Seed Lemon Cake (from Smitten Kitchen)

2/3 c. sugar

8 egg yolks

1 egg

1 1/2 tbsp. lemon zest

1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. cornstarch

1 pinch salt

1 c. melted, cooled butter

1/2 c. poppy seeds

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Butter and flour an 8 inch bundt pan; also, butter the dull side of a 10 in. piece of foil.

2. In bowl, whisk together the sugar, egg yolks, and egg on medium-high til the mix is pale yellow and very fluffy, about 8 minutes.  Beat in the lemon zest.  Sift the flour and cornstarch over the egg mix and fold it and the salt in with a rubber spatula.  On medium, beat in the butter, then the poppy seeds.

3. Pour the batter in the prepared pan and cover it tightly with the buttered foil.  Bake 45 minutes or til the cake pulls away from the pan and a cake tester inserted in the center of the cake removes cleanly.  Remove the foil and let the cake cool in the pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes.  Invert the cake onto the rack, remove the pan, and cool completely.

(Aaagh!!  I just now realized that I didn’t get a picture of this cake.  How did that happen?  Sorry!!)

 

This next recipe could be a great substitute for Chinese takeout.  It’s quick to whip up and has a nice orange flavor.  And since it’s not breaded or fried, it’s healthier for you.  I decided to change the recipe up a little by roasting the broccoli instead of steaming it.  I really prefer the texture and flavor of roasted vegetables.

Chicken and Broccolini with Orange Sauce (from the Rachael Ray Show)

2 1/4 c. chicken stock

1 c. white rice

1 bunch thinly sliced scallions

1 bundle trimmed, cut in 2 inch pieces broccolini (I just used broccoli since it’s easier to find and more affordable.)

1 1/2 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts

3 tbsp. canola oil

1 in. grated ginger

3-4 cloves finely chopped garlic

1/3 c. soy sauce

1/2 c. orange marmalade

1. Bring 1 3/4 c. stock to a boil.  Stir in the rice, cover, reduce heat to a simmer, and cook 15-8 minutes til tender.  Add the scallions and fluff with a fork.

2. Bring a few inches of water to boil for the broccolini.  Add some salt and the broccolini to the boiling water.  Boil 3-4 minutes, drain, rinse, and reserve.  (To roast, toss the broccolini with some olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Lay it on a baking sheet and roast at 375 degrees for 20 minutes or til it reaches your desired doneness.  I like mine dried out and a little crispy on the edges.)

3. Butterfly the chicken breasts into cutlets and thinly slice.  Season with salt and pepper.  Heat 2 tbsp. oil in a large nonstick skillet over high heat.  Add the chicken and stir-fry til golden, about 5 minutes.  Remove from the pan and keep warm.

4. Add 1 tbsp. oil, ginger, and garlic to the pan.  Stir 30 seconds, then add the soy, marmalade, and 1/2 c. stock.  Add the chicken and broccolini to the pan to heat while the sauce thickens.  Serve over the rice.

Chicken and Broccolini with Orange SauceChicken and Broccolini with Orange Sauce 5

Now the new twist I want to add is a new addition to some posts.  I really enjoy when bloggers I follow tell you what they’re into.  It may be a product they love, a new song, or a recipe that looks delicious.  I figured that since I enjoy reading those types of posts, you might too.  I won’t make a whole post out of them, but I do hope to add them occasionally to my regular posts.  Here’s some things I discovered over the weekend.

– Stand Up from Five for Fighting.  It’s a catchy song with a positive message about not giving up.

Smitten Kitchen‘s delicious looking, fruit-filled bran muffins.  I don’t know about you, but I’m actually a big fan of a well-made bran muffin.

– The strawberry shortbread that One Sweet Appetite blogged about on Better Homes and Gardens’s blog, Delish Dish.  These look so tasty!

– Lastly, I got to sample some Snapea Crisps at Sprouts.  I’d seen them before, and thought they looked interesting, but I didn’t expect them to be completely crispy and addictive.  I tried the lightly salted, and I was struggling not to go back for more.  I don’t know how affordable these are, but they seem like a great salty treat that’s a little better for you.  (They’re baked, not fried.)

And since I failed to get pictures of my cake, I thought I’d share a couple of my recent daily shots.

5-1 Begins with J – This was captioned “Begins with J.”  As you might guess, it’s the current stock of jams and jellies in my fridge.

5-2 Snack – This one’s caption was “Snack.”  Yum!

Pop by later and share a recent find you had.  You never know, it might show up in another post.  😉

 

Leave a Reply

