Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Sweet Treats vs. Healthy Eats April 22, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 9:49 PM
Tags: , ,

So, I realized that I hadn’t shared a recent movie experience with you.  Not too long ago, my hubby and I got to watch the uber-popular Frozen.  I won’t belabor things that I’m sure you’ve seen repeatedly on your Pinterest/Facebook/Instagram/Twitter feeds.  It’s a good movie, and we had a lot of fun watching it.  And though it’s got funny parts that we laughed at, I can’t say that it’s making my list of super-favorites.  (By the way, my favorite line is probably at the beginning when Anna says “The sky’s awake.  So I’m awake.  So we have to play!”  Also, if you’re one of the few people who have no idea what I’m talking about, check out the trailer.)

And that has absolutely nothing to do with today’s recipes, so let’s get to them.  Last week, I promised to tell you more about what I made for my hubby’s birthday, and I’m here to fulfill that promise.  Let’s start with the healthier recipe.  This actually isn’t something that my hubby requested.  His forever request is to have poppy-seed chicken casserole, which isn’t exactly healthy.  I wanted to balance the cream of soup with some vegetables.  I found some broccoli for a good price and remembered this riff on a waldorf that my mom had sent me years ago.  Though the hubby was skeptical at first, he actually really enjoyed it.  It’s really easy to make and could easily be customized with what you have or like.  Though it’s delicious as is, I’d like to try adding some sunflower seeds next time for a different type of crunch.

Waldorf Salad with Broccoli (from Taste of Home)

3 tbsp. mayo

1 tbsp. honey

1 tsp. cider vinegar

1 1/2 c. coarsely chopped broccoli florets

3/4 c. chopped apple

2 tbsp. raisins

1 tbsp. chopped pecans  (Whoops!  Looks like I forgot these.  Could be why I wanted more crunch.)

1. In a small bowl, combine the mayo, honey, and vinegar.  Stir in the remaining ingredients and refrigerate til ready to eat.

Waldorf Salad with BroccoliWaldorf Salad with Broccoli 4

Now I’m sure you’ve guessed that the sweet treat is his birthday cake, but you may not be expecting this.  My hubby is not a huge cake person.  He’ll eat it; it’s just note his go-to dessert.  So for this birthday, he asked for an ice cream cake that I’d made for him before when we were dating.  Not only is this cake delicious, it’s a snap to make and not too pricey either.  We really enjoyed this, and I just wish it had lasted longer.

Oreo & Fudge Ice Cream Cake (from Kraft)

1/2 c. warmed fudge ice cream topping (Rather than buying a jar for just 1/2 c., I used some chocolate syrup that we already had.)

8 oz. thawed cool whip

1 4 serving size package chocolate instant pudding mix

8 Oreo cookies

12 vanilla ice cream sandwiches

1. Pour the fudge topping in a medium bowl and whisk in 1 c. cool whip til well blended.  Add the dry pudding mix and stir  2 minutes or til well blended.  If the mix is too thick to spread easily, stir in up to 1/4 c. milk.

2. Roughly chop the oreos and stir into the chocolate mix.

3. On a 24×12 inch piece of foil, arrange 4 ice cream sandwiches side by side. ([][][][])  Top with half of the pudding mix, then repeat the layers.

4. Top the 2nd layer of pudding mix with the last 4 ice cream sandwiches.

5. Frost the top and sides of the cake with the remaining cool whip.

6. Bring up the foil sides and double-fold the top and ends to loosely seal into a packet.  Freeze at least 4 hours before serving.  (Using a serrated knife will make slicing this much easier.)

Oreo & Fudge Ice Cream Cake 3Oreo & Fudge Ice Cream Cake 2

So, are you cake person or do you prefer a less conventional treat?  (I’m pretty open to all treats, though I do usually end up making myself some form of cake.)

 

One Response to “Sweet Treats vs. Healthy Eats”

  1. […] the way, I do realize that I shared a similar broccoli salad about a month ago.  I feel that they’re both valid recipes with different flavor profiles.  The waldorf salad […]


Leave a Reply

