Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

An Interesting Couple of Weeks March 11, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 10:29 PM
Tags: , , , ,

Obviously, it’s been a little longer than usual since my last post.  I had several get-togethers with friends and family last week, which kind of made blogging fall by the wayside for a minute.  I was thinking of y’all and trying to post, but I just never got quite enough time.  Therefore, today’s post might be a bit on the long side. 😉  I’ve got some things to share from February as well as a kick-off for my new series.  Let’s start with some of my February highlights.

One of the biggest highlights for me was y’all.  This February, the blog got the most view I’ve ever had in a single month: 291 views from 205 visitors!!!!  Especially for the shortest month in the year, I think that’s amazing!!!!

The weather around here has been a little crazy, but it’s given me the chance to enjoy another new “find”.  I’ve recently fallen in love with tights.  When it’s incredibly cold out, I feel better just having a little something extra covering my legs.  I’ve seen tights in magazines, but wasn’t sure if I’d like them.  (I have some vague memories of wearing itchy, ill-fitting tights when I was a little girl.)  Still, I found some at Kohl’s that weren’t too thick (so not itchy) and came in a variety of colors.  All I currently have is gray, but I’m looking forward to expanding my collection in preparation for next winter.  What do you think?

Tights 2

Another new find was a type of sandwich that I’d seen floating around on Pinterest.  Pins like this one show people making peanut butter sandwiches with apple slices as the bread.  It seemed like a neat idea, so I finally gave it a try.  I think the flavor is really good, but the sandwiches are messy to eat.  It would be less messy if you made them open-face, and that’s still a cool idea for midday snack.  I had some with just peanut butter and others that also had some pumpkin seeds.  You could use just about any spread and top them with all sorts of goodies.  What would you put on yours?

Apple-Peanut Butter Sandwich

And though it’s not about February, I have something else that might make you smile.  For the month of March, Orange Leaf (my favorite frozen yogurt joint) is offering double points on all purchases that you make with your Orange card (their free reward card).  Their latest flavor is pistachio, and I can’t wait to try it while earning double points.

In my last post, I mentioned that I was planning another series.  Newer readers may not know that in 2012 from February through September, I did a weekly series where I would share one of my favorite romantic comedy movies and a recipe that went along with it.  I’ve been updating those posts lately, and it reminded me of all the fun I had working on them.  I thought it was time to do another series, and I’m kicking it off with this post.  This time around, I want to share some of my favorite children’s movies and find recipes to complement them.  I probably won’t share one every week, but hopefully 1-2 a month.

The first kid’s movie that I picked to share is a classic: Beauty and the Beast from Disney.  Growing up, this was one of my favorite movies, and I really enjoyed watching it again.  The movie is based on the classic fairy tale where a fairy or witch curses a proud prince to live as a hideous beast until he can earn a woman’s love.  (See the trailer here.)  In true Disney form, the movie contains a lot of funny supporting characters (like Lumiere and Cogsworth), witty lines to keep adults entertained (“If it’s not Baroque, don’t fix it.”) and incredible music that will get stuck in your head for a while.  (I’m also partial to the incredible library in the castle.  One of my favorite fictional rooms ever!)

Since the movie is based in France, I knew that I wanted to go with some type of classic French food.  It’s been awhile since I tried my hand at pate a choux (the dough for gougeres, cream puffs, and eclairs), and I wanted to give it another try.  (See my first foray with it here.)  Well, pate a choux seem to be my culinary nemesis.  Last time, I mentioned that my gougeres didn’t puff as much as they should.  This time things were even worse!  My husband thinks it’s the rain and yucky weather we’ve been having, but I had no end of trouble with these.  Not only did my cream puffs not puff up quite enough, but my pastry cream didn’t thicken up like it was supposed to.  Everything tasted great, but they weren’t very pretty.  Here’s one of the most photogenic ones.  (By the way, since they didn’t turn out, I’m not sharing the recipe.)

Cream PuffsCream Puffs 2

Lastly, I wanted to share some of my recent pictures.  At the beginning of the year, I told you that I was trying to take a photo every day, but it’s been at least a month since I shared any.  I do have a picture for every day, but not all them are worthy of being shared.  But there have been some more inspired shots lately that I’ve been really excited to share with you.  Check these out!

2-26 Light  This one’s caption was “Light”.

2-27 My View Today     2-27 My View Today 2  For “My View Today”  I caught some glistening frost on a parked car as well as a cute bird under the eaves.

3-3 Just Because 2  This one wasn’t for the photo of the day, but I couldn’t resist the beautiful sunrise I saw.

Lastly, I wanted to share today’s picture.  The caption was “Something Good”.  I decided to take a picture of tonight’s dinner, and use it as a teaser for an upcoming post.  Does this look good to you?

3-11 Something Good

Come back soon for the recipe!  Hope you have a great rest of the week.

 

3 Responses to “An Interesting Couple of Weeks”

  1. Raye Says:

    Tights! Love my patterned tights from Kohl’s. I wish I had gray, but just have black and brown right now. Total lifesaver in the winter when you’re wearing a skirt. I’ve seen those apple sandwiches on pinterest a million times and have always wanted to try them. I would do peanut butter and raisins on mine. Love that combo!

    And I’m so excited about your new series. It’s going to be fun!

  2. […] as a bonus I decided to throw in some pictures that I captured a few days ago from my balcony.  Another little birdie decided to pay me a visit, and I managed to snap several shots before he flew […]


Leave a Reply

