Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Lighter Options February 4, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 8:26 PM
Tags: , ,

I don’t really have news from last month, so I thought I’d share some enjoyable treats that are a little on the lighter side (for those of you who are still keeping up with your resolutions).  The first recipe is one that I honestly thought I’d shared long ago.  It was the first enchilada recipe I ever made and is still a favorite in our home.  This makes a lot of filling, so you can feed a crowd or just not have to cook for a while (!).  When I made it this past week, I took pictures to update the blog.  Imagine my surprise when I searched for enchilada recipes and found that I hadn’t posted this one.  I decided that I needed to fix that right away, so here I am.  I generally poach my chicken early in the afternoon, so that when dinner time rolls around I can just mix the filling, roll the enchiladas, and bake this in the oven.  If you wanted even less prep, you could buy pre-cooked chicken strips or shred up a rotisserie chicken.  As with most enchilada recipes, you can also swap out any ingredients you don’t like for things that you prefer or just happen to have on hand.  My change to the recipe comes from using corn tortillas instead of flour.  I always find flour tortillas to be too thick to make a proper enchilada, but you could use whichever you prefer.

Chicken-and-Black Bean Enchiladas (from MyRecipes.com)

3 c. chopped, cooked chicken (I use shredded chicken.)

1 15 oz. can drained, rinsed black beans

1 10 oz. can diced tomatoes with green chiles

1 8 3/4 oz. can drained corn

8 oz. shredded Mexican blend cheese

8 8 in. whole wheat flour tortillas

2 10 oz. cans enchilada sauce

1. Combine the chicken, beans, tomatoes, corn, and 1 1/2 c. cheese in a large bowl.  Spoon the filling evenly down the center of each tortilla and roll up.  Arrange the enchiladas seam side down in a greased 13×9 pan.  (When I’m making one portion for two people, I use 6 corn tortillas in an 8 in. square pan.

2. Pour the enchilada sauce over the tortillas and sprinkle with 1/2 c. cheese.  Bake, covered with foil, at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.  Remove the foil and bake 15 minutes or til bubbly.

Chicken-and-Black Bean Enchiladas 2Chicken-and-Black Bean Enchiladas 4

My next recipe is one that I made for my MIL’s birthday.  She’s a big fan of key limes, so I thought these would be a nice treat for her to have when she enjoys her tea.  These are tiny, but their buttery, light flavor is satisfying.  These were really easy to make, and the dough would keep nicely in the freezer for you to make as you need them.  I got about 5 1/2 dozen out of 1 batch, so there’s plenty to share.

Key Lime Meltaways (from Smitten Kitchen)

3/4 c. softened butter

1 c. confectioner’s sugar

Zest of 4 small or 2 large key limes

2 tbsp. key lime juice

1 tbsp. vanilla

1 3/4 c. + 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour

2 tbsp. cornstarch

1/4 tsp. salt

1. Cream together the butter and 1/3 c. sugar til fluffy.  Add the lime zest, lime juice, and vanilla; beat til fluffy.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cornstarch, and salt.  Add to the butter mix and beat on low til combined.

3. Split the dough into 2 portions.  Roll each between an 8×12 piece of parchment into a 1 1/4 in. log.  Chill the logs for at least 1 hour.

4. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment and place the remaining 2/3 c. confectioner’s sugar in a ziploc bag.  Remove the parchment from the logs and slice the dough into 1/4 in. rounds.  Place 1 inch apart on the baking sheets.

5. Bake the cookies til they’re barely golden, about 15 minutes.  Transfer the cookies to a wire rack for 3-4 minutes.  While the cookies are still warm, toss them in the sugar.

Key Lime MeltawaysKey Lime Meltaways 6Key Lime Meltaways 7

The last recipe I wanted to share is for hummus.  I’ve shared this technique before, but not the recipe.  Though I thought that the technique worked well, it didn’t completely wow me.  Then a few weeks ago, the hubby and I went with his  brother and sister-in-law to an amazing Middle Eastern restaurant called the Jerusalem Grill.  We went because we had a Groupon, but we’ll be going back because it’s well-priced, with large portions, and supremely delicious.  We went particularly bonkers for their amazing hummus.  Besides being silky smooth and fluffy, it just has a great taste that keeps you returning for more.  I decided to give this smooth hummus recipe another try, to see if it would be the same as the one at the restaurant.  I don’t know what I did wrong the last time, but this time it turned out perfectly.  It was completely smooth and had that indescribable taste that had me coming back for more.  I would HIGHLY recommend that you use this method the next time that you plan to make hummus.  By the way, it does turn less fluffy when it’s cold, but you can just let it come to room temp before serving.

Smooth Hummus (again, from Smitten Kitchen)

1 15 oz. can drained chickpeas

1/2 c. tahini (This, I think, is what gives it that indescribable, addictive flavor.)

2 tbsp. lemon juice

2 cloves chopped garlic

3/4 tsp. salt

About 1/4 c. water

1. Peel the chickpeas by squeezing them (pointy end toward your palm) between your thumb and first two fingers.  (By the way, who knew that chickpeas had skins???)  Discard the skins.

2. In a food processor, blend the chickpeas til powdery clumps form, at least 1 min., scraping down the sides.  Add the tahini, lemon juice, garlic, and salt, and blend til pureed.  With the machine on, drizzle in the water 1 tbsp. at a time til it becomes smooth, light, and creamy.  (Since I was using canned chickpeas, instead of making my own like Deb, I might have used more than that.  I just added water til the consistency was right; it didn’t change the flavor at all.)

Smooth Hummus 2Smooth Hummus 3

Here’s one of my pics from this past week.  The caption was “something orange.”

2-3 Something Orange 2

 

Can you tell that I like jewelry and nail polish?  Hope you’re having a good week!

 

One Response to “Lighter Options”

  1. […] hummus  (This hummus recipe is not only the smoothest one ever, it’s also incredibly healthy.  There’s no oil in […]


Leave a Reply

