Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

A Little Here and a Little There January 14, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 6:32 PM
Tags: , ,

Since I just posted a few days ago, I thought I’d make this a short (but sweet) post.  Let’s start with some new menu items from Starbucks.  They’ve introduced a new caramel flan latte and a couple new caramel treats to go along with it.  The first treat is a chocolate caramel muffin (a rich chocolate muffin with a creamy caramel center) and the other is a salted caramel square (a dense chocolate square full of crunchy pretzels, pecans and swirled with caramel)  Both the treats sound lovely, and I hope to try one or both soon.

Just this past Sunday, I tried a new slow-cooker meal that took just 6 ingredients and almost no prep to turn out a flavorful dinner.  My husband always seems skittish of curries (I’m not sure why, since he nearly always enjoys them.), but we enjoyed this one even more than most.  I only made 1/2 of it, which made about 3 servings.  It had a nice bit of heat to it, but was mostly just lots of delicious flavors.

Slow-Cooker Marmalade Curry Chicken (from AllRecipes.com)

5 (6 oz.) boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I sliced mine in strips.  They cooked through a little faster, but still stayed very moist.)

1 12 oz. jar orange marmalade

1/2 c. chicken stock

1 1/2 tsp. curry powder

1/2 tsp. cayenne

1 pinch ginger

1. Season the chicken with salt and pepper and place it in the slow-cooker.  In a small bowl, whisk together everything but the chicken, then pour it over the chicken.

2. Cover and cook on high 3-4 hours or on low 5-7 hours.  Flip the chicken once during the cooking.  (Since mine were in strips, they cooked on low in 3-4 hours and didn’t need to be flipped.)

Pictures updated 7/12/16

We also recently tried some oatmeal bars that I was pleasantly surprised with.  When I heard “oatmeal bars”, I expected something chewy and nice but not incredible.  What I got was the best, chewy, chocolate-chip-studded oatmeal cookie you could hope for.  The flavor is simple, but somehow, you still can’t eat more than one — they’re just perfectly satisfying.  If you need a quick but satisfying treat, I urge you to give this one a go.

Oatmeal Bars (of unknown origin)

1 c. all-purpose flour

1 1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 c. brown sugar

3/4 c. softened butter

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 c. milk

2 c. quick oats

1 1/4 c. semisweet chocolate chips (Or only 1 c. if you don’t do the chocolate drizzle on top.  I thought it was fine without it.)

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees; grease and set aside an 8 in. square pan.

2. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.  In a large bowl, beat together the butter and sugar on medium-high til fluffy.  Beat in the vanilla.  Reduce the speed to low and beat in the milk, then the flour mixture.  Stir in the oats and 1 c. chocolate chips.

3. Spread the batter into the prepared plan and bake for 35 minutes or til a toothpick inserted in the center removes cleanly.  Cool completely on a wire rack.  Melt the remaining 1/4 c. chocolate chips and drizzle over the cooled bars.

Oatmeal Bars 2Oatmeal Bars

Since it’s only been a few days, I don’t have many more pictures to show you.  Still, I thought I’d leave you with the one I took for Sunday.  The caption was colorful, and I decided on a picture of my lovely washi tape collection (recently augmented by my husband).

1-12 Colorful  (He bought me the 5 on the left.  Aren’t they lovely?)

Well, until next week, I hope you’re enjoying your some delicious food and time with your loved ones.

 

Leave a Reply

