Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

One Last Post Before 2014 December 31, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 10:33 PM
Tags: , ,

Well, I obviously didn’t get in a post last week.  Hopefully you were all too busy spending quality time with your families to notice.  All of our family and friend get-togethers went very well, and I’ve really been enjoying the extra time with my hubby.  In that spirit, this isn’t going to be a long post, though I do have just a few great recipes to share.

The first couple recipes are for people like me who have a tendency to get sick around the holidays.  I don’t know if it’s just the way my body handles stress, but I always seem to come down with something at Christmas time.  This year it was mostly a sore throat and some sniffles.  To soothe my sore throat, I turned to a couple of soothing DIY teas.  (Okay, technically these aren’t teas [since they don’t contain any tea leaves], but that’s the easiest way to describe them.)

This first tea has a lovely blend of healing spices mixed with the ever-comforting blend of lemon juice and honey.  I enjoyed this tea’s somewhat Christmas-y flavor.  Unfortunately, my strainer didn’t do a great job of straining out the spices so I couldn’t drink the last half-inch of the tea.  Still, it felt really soothing, and I loved the spiced flavor.

Healing Turmeric and Spice Tea (from Wandering Spice)

1 tsp. turmeric

1/4 tsp. cardamom

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 1/2 in. washed, skin-on, chopped ginger

1 dash cayenne

3 c. water

3 squeezes lemon juice

Honey to taste

1. Place the spices and water in a pot, bring it to a boil, turn off the heat, cover, and let steep for 5 minutes.

2. Strain the tea into 3 cups and stir in the honey and lemon juice to taste.

Healing Tea 3

This next isn’t really a recipe, just my lazy technique for sore throat tea.  Since the turmeric tea wasn’t straining well for me, I just boiled some water with a couple slices of fresh ginger and lemon, then stirred in some honey.  It was easy and really made my throat feel better.  (Sorry, I didn’t take a picture of this one.  It pretty much just looks like cloudy water.)

My last recipe of the night is for someone who’s looking for a quick, easy, and decadent recipe to ring in the New Year.  I recently made shrimp linguine alfredo for my hubby, and he could not get enough of it.  The ingredients are all pretty basic, but the flavor was rich.

Shrimp Linguine Alfredo (from AllRecipes.com)

12 oz. linguine

1/4 c. melted butter

4 tbsp. diced onion

4 tsp. mince garlic

40 small, peeled, deveined shrimp

1 c. half & half

2 tsp. black pepper

6 tbsp. grated Parmesan

1. Cook the pasta in a large pot of boiling water til al dente, then drain and reserve it.

2. In a large saucepan, melt the butter.  Saute the onion and garlic over medium heat til tender.  Add the shrimp and saute it on high for 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Stir in the half and half and cook, stirring constantly, til the sauce thickens.

3. Place the pasta in a serving dish and cover with the shrimp sauce.  Sprinkle the pasta with pepper and Parmesan.

Shrimp Linguine Alfredo 2Shrimp Linguine Alfredo 3

Well, that’s all for now, but I wish you all a happy New Year!!

 

Leave a Reply

