Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Tasty for Thanksgiving November 19, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 3:48 PM
Tags: , ,

Today’s recipes aren’t necessarily traditional for Thanksgiving, but I do think they would work.  I also have a recipe idea for something that might help use up some of those leftovers.

The first recipe I want to share is for some delicious biscuits.  I made these biscuits recently to serve with some chili that I’ll tell you about another time.  I had wanted to make something that would use up all the chives from my plant (in preparation for winter).  These biscuits were tasty, but they also had a surprise – they’re huge!  I formed them into a regular biscuit size, but wait til you see how they turned out.

Cheddar, Bacon, and Chive Biscuits (from the February 2010 issue of Bon Appetit)

6 slices thick-cut bacon

3 3/4 c. bread flour (I used all-purpose, and it turned out fine.)

1 1/2 tbsp. baking powder

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 c. cubed butter

2 1/2 c. grated cheddar

1/3 c. chopped chives

1 3/4 c. buttermilk

1. Position an oven rack just above the center and preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a large skillet, cook the bacon over medium heat til it’s crisp and brown.  Transfer the bacon to a paper towel-lined plate to drain, then coarsely chop it.

2. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in the food processor and blend for 5 seconds.  Add the cubed butter and blend til it forms a coarse meal, about 30 seconds.  Transfer the flour mix to a large bowl and stir in the cheese, chives, and bacon.  Gradually add the buttermilk, stirring to moisten evenly.  (The mix will be sticky.)

3. Using lightly floured hands, drop a generous 1/2 c. of batter for each biscuit 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheet.  Bake the biscuits til golden and a toothpick inserted in the center of a biscuit removes cleanly, 18-20 minutes.  Brush the cooked biscuits with lightly melted butter (and sprinkle with a little sea salt!).

Cheddar, Bacon, and Chive BiscuitsCheddar, Bacon, and Chive Biscuits 2 (Do you see how huge they are?  Two biscuits took up a whole plate!)

This next recipe is for a decadent ice cream that can be used instead of or in addition to your regular Thanksgiving desserts.  This butter pecan has a rich creamy flavor with a slightly fluffy texture, and it is chock full (maybe even too full) of toasted pecans.  I adored this ice cream, though I agreed with my husband that it might be a little better with a tad bit less cream cheese.  (Mine didn’t incorporate completely into the ice cream like I would prefer.  The hubby thought it made the ice cream too tangy.  Next time, I might try letting it melt over the pecans so that the ice cream won’t have little clumps of cream cheese in it.)  I loved the buttery flavor that this ice cream had, and the pecans had great flavor too.  Depending on the size of your ice cream maker (here’s mine), you might need to break this up into 2 batches like I did.

Butter Pecan Ice Cream (from Add a Pinch)

2 c. chopped pecans (I want just a little more ice cream, so next time I might try just 1 1/2 c.)

2 tbsp. butter

2 c. heavy cream

1 c. whole milk

4 oz. softened cream cheese (Next time I’ll try it with just 2 oz.)

1 1/4 c. dark brown sugar (I used light brown, though I’m sure dark would add even more flavor.)

2 tsp. vanilla

1. In a skillet over medium-low heat, toast the pecans and butter, stirring occasionally, til lightly browned, about 3 minutes.  Remove from the heat, add a pinch of salt, and let cool.

2. Cream together the cream, milk, and cream cheese.  Add in the sugar, vanilla, and a pinch of salt.  Stir in the cooled pecan mix and churn according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.  You can serve it immediately or freeze it til it hardens.

Butter Pecan Ice CreamButter Pecan Ice Cream 3

The last thing I wanted to share is a quick recipe idea that might come in handy for Thanksgiving leftovers.  My hubby and I recently enjoyed some delicious empanadas.  Every time we have them, I wonder what has taken me so long to make them.  They’re easy to make ahead, easy to customize, and incredibly delicious.  There are a many different types of dough that people use, but I prefer to use pizza dough.  It’s easy to just buy or whip up in my bread maker.  This last time, we used a filling of taco meat, black beans, and corn; but you can easily put in whatever you want or have on hand.  I think it would be really tasty with some leftover turkey and roasted vegetables.

When I was making these, I learned a new trick about my homemade taco seasoning.  I remembered that when I used to use packets of taco seasoning, they had you mix it with some water before you poured it over the meat.  So this time, I mixed a couple tablespoons of my taco seasoning and a couple teaspoons of flour in 1/2 cup of water.  I poured it over the meat in the pan, and it almost immediately created that wonderful sauce that I had been missing.  It made the empanadas extra tasty, so I suggest you try it the next time you use your homemade seasoning.  (I wouldn’t add flour to the actual seasoning in case you wanted to use it as a spice in soup or another dish.)  Check out the proof.

EmpanadasEmpanadas 2

That’s all for today, but I’ll (hopefully) be back next week, as long as the Thanksgiving preparations aren’t taking up all my time.  😉  Talk to you again soon!

 

Leave a Reply

